Tomb Kings and Power Dice. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    31
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Tomb Kings and Power Dice.

    Hey guys.
    Just have a quick question about tomb kings magic and power dice.
    Now tomb kings wizards use magic differently for those who dont know.
    they cast spells as bound spells at a power level determined by a dice roll (different number depending on who's casting).
    It specifically states that they do not generate power dice.
    in the ruling it says
    "...are treated as wizards but they don't generate any power dice. They generate dispel dice as normal in the enemy phase..."

    My question is do they still get the 2 free dice the army get, thinking in terms of dispelling remains in play spells.
    there doesnt seem to be any ruing in the FAQ and it doesnt explicitly say they dont get the 2 free army dice.
    What do people here think? am inclined to say you do get those 2 dic to have a go at getting rid of remains in play.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Banned ArchonFarseerGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Jafaland, New Zealand
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    458 (x8)

    Yeah, they do. Just because their wizards don't generate PD doesn't mean they don't get the two to start with.

    It'd probably be better if someone could answer with a quote from the rulebook though.

  4. #3
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    No quotes are needed AFG. there is nothing in the TL book about it. In the main rulebook, ALL armies get 2 basic PD (even dwarves afaik...). That includes TKs

  5. #4
    Banned ArchonFarseerGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Jafaland, New Zealand
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    458 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Phoenix View Post
    ALL armies get 2 basic PD (even dwarves afaik...)
    Yeah, Dwarfs get them too. After all, they need SOME kind of defence against RiP spells other than that crazy expensive banner.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Every army in the game gets at least 2 power dice. I assume the reason for this is, that if a remains in play got off, it would be fairly devastating if you didnt' have some power dice to dispel it during your turn.

  7. #6
    LO Zealot archonofdeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Carnegie Pennsylvania, US
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,982
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    68 (x4)

    This thread has been answered. However it would really stink to only have 2 power dice when you want to dispel spells. Alas, it is your curse as a TK player.
    A youth with his first cigar makes himself sick; a youth with his first girl makes other people sick. - Mary Wilson Little

  8. #7
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    Why is 2 dice not good? I mean you would have trouble getting rid of a comet, but you have a decent shot against most other remains in play spells.

    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  9. #8
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    And an average chance against Ogres, who are the main users of "RiP" spells.

  10. #9
    Senior Member Hondor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Age
    31
    Posts
    442
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    48 (x1)

    on another angle from this, the banner of sneaking stealing, and rune of ballance do work against TK (Taking 1 of our 2 PD that we don't use)
    Painting: 20 quarrelers

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts