Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
As far as I was aware, you have to have a minimum unit size and then you add heroes and other character on top. So for example, You'd need five High Elf Silver Helms to make the unit, and then add a mounted character, as he is not really part of the unit (although he leads and fights with them).
I am confused though as many people on this board take less than the minimum amount of these models and then make the unit up to it's minimum size using characters. For example, taking four Silver Helms and adding a Lord, to make five.
What is the official ruling?
You're correct in assuming that characters don't count towards the minimum unit size, so in your example the person who only had four SH was in error.
However it's pretty common practice to use a character to make an even unit, 19 spearmen and a hero, to make a nice 4x5 block for instance.
Next time someone makes that mistake, be sure to tell them.
Thanks. I thought so, but wanted to be sure.