Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a unit charges a unit equipped with ranged weapons from behind or the flank can it still stand and shoot? I've dug through the rulebook and can't find anything under charge reactions that says no, but it would seem that since they're not in the front arc they couldn't stand and shoot. What is your take on this?
Yeah, you have to be able to see what you are shooting at. Charge reactions follow the normal rules for shooting.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Well, if you read the section you have already consulted, it says " - refer to the Shooting section for rules governing missile weapons.", within which you will find the rules for Line shooting, arcs of fire and line of sight. This is just a long-winded way of saying that no, they can't stand & shoot.
Note however that fast cavalry have a 360 arc of fire, so if you charged them in the flank or rear they could still shoot you.
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
Missed that line. Thanks folks.