Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
YYYYY XXXXX YYYYY
YYYYY XXZXX YYYYY
Ok, as above 2 units of Os charge X (and thereby also engage Y units), Z represents a BSB in a unit who has lost it's champion Q represents a Hero.
Character Q declares a challange. Can the XY army general use a champion from either of the flanking 'Y' units accept that challenge? I'm thinking the answer is no because he is not allowed to leave his unit and there's no way for him to get into base contact with Q without leaving his unit. Of course if there were a character in a 'Y' unit he could accept the challenge but he'd still be considered a part of his unit even though he's no longer technically 'in' his unit.
The challenger can move to be in base contact in case the challengee cannot,
This is in the FAQ (p4 under 'Characters'). The two models fighting the challenge do not actually have to be capable of physically touching without leaving their regiments. You can 'abstract' it, so to say.
To give or accept challenged the only rule you have to follow is if the character is in combat, so if your unit champion or hero or lord is in combat, he can issue a challenge, and anyone can accept as long as they are taking part in that combat and are in base to base with someone.