Can you cast magic in combat?? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Member The Wise-guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Age
    21
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Can you cast magic in combat??

    Can you cast magic in combat because I cant find it in the rules. I think you can, my friend thinks you can't. Its vamp magic if it makes a difference


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    A mage in close combat may cast magic, unless the spell states otherwise.

    You may not cast spells into combat, unless the spell states otherwise. (Thanks to Affe below)

    The most common spell type that is denied by combat is Magic Missiles (No line of sight when in combat, cannot be cast into combat)

    Tempted to sticky this thread... its a very common question type lol.
    Last edited by Phoenix; April 14th, 2009 at 00:50.

  4. #3
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    You may not cast spells into combat, unless the spell states otherwise.
    Fixed

  5. #4
    LO Zealot archonofdeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Carnegie Pennsylvania, US
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,982
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    68 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by InquisitorAffe View Post
    Fixed ;)
    That's questionable right now, the new rule set seems to allow for all magic to be cast in magic, provided it is not a magic missile (which they blatantly state you cannot cast while in combat (page 110)) and you do not need line of sight (if you do then you can only see the swirling combat in front of you). The fact that they did not bother to state that spells cast while in combat need to have it specified in the rules and yet still mentioned with Magic missiles that they need to be specified in the rules to cast while in combat leads one to believe that the old order has been altered to allow casting of spells in combat.

    HOWEVER the spell has to say it can be cast INTO combat to be cast on models in melee (page 107).

    Edit:

    The smilies for :0 and 0) need to be removed ~_~
    Last edited by archonofdeath; April 13th, 2009 at 21:01.
    A youth with his first cigar makes himself sick; a youth with his first girl makes other people sick. - Mary Wilson Little

  6. #5
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    Isn't that what I said?

  7. #6
    LO Zealot archonofdeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Carnegie Pennsylvania, US
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,982
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    68 (x4)

    OOOOOH

    Sorry I read that as "in" combat not "into"

    Yeah, I'll leave it up, though, it's got pages numbers for people

    Also I am trying to see if the FAQ says anything and I came across this:

    Q. Does the Comet of Casandora spell end when the
    comet strikes the ground?
    A. Yes.

    I remember when a question like this would get laughed at and not make it into the FAQs, or when the game wasn't designed to be idiot proof.
    A youth with his first cigar makes himself sick; a youth with his first girl makes other people sick. - Mary Wilson Little

  8. #7
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Lol. Thanks Affe, slight slip up there.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Allonairre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,244
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    Assuming you are not casting a magic missile, can you cast something that needs line of sight on the unit you are in combat with. eg Lore of Life's Master of the Wood?

    This has probably been answered somewhere else, but it seems to fit this thread.
    Cheers Allonairre

    WIP Thread

  10. #9
    LO Zealot archonofdeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Carnegie Pennsylvania, US
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,982
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    68 (x4)

    You cannot draw a line of sight while in combat.

    Page 9 of the BRB, Interposing models.

    Your arc of sight is directed toward your enemy and unless you are on the outside and partially not toughing an enemy model then there is something in the way. Now if you are partially not in base contact and on the outside... well I don't know...

    Mind that Slaan are effectively floating over the ground and CAN cast over their enemies heads.
    A youth with his first cigar makes himself sick; a youth with his first girl makes other people sick. - Mary Wilson Little

  11. #10
    Senior Member Allonairre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,244
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    399 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by archonofdeath View Post
    You cannot draw a line of sight while in combat.

    Page 9 of the BRB, Interposing models.

    Your arc of sight is directed toward your enemy and unless you are on the outside and partially not toughing an enemy model then there is something in the way. Now if you are partially not in base contact and on the outside... well I don't know...

    yes, but surely you can see the people you are fighting and cast spells at them.
    Cheers Allonairre

    WIP Thread

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts