Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Add in that GW no longer gives a poo about their FAQs.
Outside of Characters (including Champion Shaggoths) only 3 units say you can take Marks, Minotaurs, Spawns, and Bestigors.
Minotaurs have one of the most depressing entries to ever grace a Chaos army book and that is that they may take the same mark as the general, however it seems they are unable to take any other mark (or so says the wording).
Bestigors allow for only 1 unit to have a mark.
However somehow the FAQ says that a Chariot may be given a mark at the cost for Regiments.
On top of that in the Marks of Chaos it says that Characters, Tuskgor Chariots and up to one unit of Bestigors are assumed to have Chaos Undivided and can upgrade for the points listed. Alright that covers Lords, Shaggoths, Doombulls and Heros (making up 3 Lord choices and any Hero, however oddly this leaves Great Brey-Shamans out for whatever reason) as well as Chariots and Bestigors (Regiments), but it doesn't cover Minotaurs. The last group has a listing, however.
So, can normal beast herds get marks under the Regiments of _____? Can You have different units of Minotaurs with different marks? I think it's a no to both those questions but it will be really messed up if I show up to a game with an entire army of Minotaurs all with Tzeentch or Khorne marks. The others 2 marks are fine to take an entire army of, but those two add so much magic or take so much away it's really going overboard.
A youth with his first cigar makes himself sick; a youth with his first girl makes other people sick. - Mary Wilson Little
Please remember, it is an old book lol. The FAQ was GWs pitiful attempt at making it usable between then and the new BoC book.
Characters can get any mark, except Shamen who can only get N and S (reasons should be obvious)
(PS - i dont see how you come to conclusion that Great Bray Shamen are left out? They are Lords)
Chariots have access to any mark listed for the ''Regiment'' points cost.
If you have a Minotaur unit in your army, it may be unmarked or have the same mark as your General ONLY. (So no CU Minos in a list lead by a Slannesh general)
Normal Beast Herds cannot be marked.
You think marking Minos means we bring too much magic to the table!? Have you SEEN DoC!? On top of that, the cost of marks does stack up rather fast...
Before i really started paying attention i always thought that herds could take marks, later i found out they couldn't, like the marauders in the old HoC book (that was changed for WoC),
You have to understand that BoC book was made with the older mindset: Chaos hates each other! This was dropped for the current book, as all chaos now hugs and cuddles when not fighting outsiders (yes, i think that sucks).
But apart from that, yeah, the wording is kinda crummy.
Got a "good" rumour from a GW staffer? Forget about it, LO'ers know more than any random GW shop staffer.
Voor alle nederlanders:
The Dutch Legion
Ahh well... its a common mistake...
Always wondered where it had originated from