Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a question. As we all know, spears allow the unit to fight in two (or 3 with Martyan Prowess) ranks in CC.
And what if it is joined with a hero with some other weapon (greatsword for example)? Does it mean that models standing behind him won`t be able to participate in combat?
I`m looking at my HE army book atm. Spearmen`s and Sea Guards` champions (Sentinels and Sea Masters) are drawn wielding swords, not spears! Should it be ignored?
Command models are assumed to have the same weapon as the rest of the unit even when modelled differently.
If you're talking about a character however, a spearmen in the second rank behind the chracter can still fight.
If a hero or whoever is using a non-spear weapon then any normal guys with spears behind him still get to attack as normal.
I'm not so sure. Command models of course are assumed to be armed and equipped as per the rest of the unit, but I will check the BRB tonight and confirm if the front ranker has to be spear-armed for rear rankers to attack...
"fight in x ranks" ie 2 or 3, has no bearing for the model in front of a unit. IE if it were an issues then HE mages would stink because they would prevent the model behind from striking.
Think of it like a unit ability IE always strike first, hatred etc. Its not exactly the same, however if a character is in the front of a unit he does not stop the model behind in from using a spear.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
ok, wording of the fight in X ranks rule is if the model in front is engaged then the model may fight