Standard Bearers and Musicians in combat - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Standard Bearers and Musicians in combat

    Recently reading the rulebook for the first time (new WHFB player here, but somewhat experienced in 40k), I'm guessing here the attackers choose which model to specifically attack in close combat. Does that mean I can choose to attack the musicians and standard bearers off the bat, since they are always in the first rank?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    You can only target unit champions, standard bearers and musicians are last die.
    (If you kill them, someone else just picks up the standard etc...)


  4. #3
    Monkey of Mystery The Paint Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,789
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    743 (x8)

    In pretty much every regard standard bearers and musicians are treated as identical to a normal unit member. Consider them 'unit upgrades' which will only be lost when killed (and standard and/or musician are almost invariably the last to die, even champions get targetted before they get killed) or defeated by the enemy and fled the fight (standard only).
    No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!

  5. #4
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    You can chose to attack the Standard Bearer or Musician, but if killed, a normal troop is just assumed to step forward and pick up the banner/instrument.

    If there is only a SB/M/Champ left though, i guess you could target the SB say, and no one could be able to replace him, so that unit loses its standard lol.

    The Champion is the only model of a unit you can target specifically with attacks and kill, without him being replaced.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Dragorakiba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    If the SB, musician, and champion are the only only ones left I believe that the player being attack would be able to choose which of them gets taken away.

  7. #6
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dragorakiba View Post
    If the SB, musician, and champion are the only only ones left I believe that the player being attack would be able to choose which of them gets taken away.
    Ahh yes, very true. For the SB and M atleast.

  8. #7
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    The attacker can choose to specify *attack* allocations. If you don't and just roll, you don't then get to choose which one gets pulled. It's a subtle difference.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    206
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    The BRB states that you can never target a Standard Bearer or Musician with any attacks...so wouldn't that always leave it up to the defenders choice?


  10. #9
    Suffer not the Unclean InquisitorAffe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Age
    36
    Posts
    2,251
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    381 (x8)

    Latest FAQ says you can target specific non-champ/chart models.

    /shrug, it's oddsauce

  11. #10
    Rushing Jaws Ancalagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lincolnshire, England
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,541
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    238 (x6)

    To summarise:

    You can choose which model(s) to allocate your attacks to. However, if the musician or standard bearer are killed then the chap behind picks up the banner/instrument. Effectively this means that the musician and standard bearer will only be removed once all rank and file models are killed.

    The standard bearer can be removed in another way, that is when the unit is defeated in combat and flees. They are assumed to drop their banner in the confusion, and the victorious enemy unit picks it up. In this case the standard bearer model is replaced by a regular rank and file model, and the enemy unit gets victory points for capturing the banner.

    Champions can be targeted separately in combat, and can be killed. Often, since most champions have the same statline as the rest of the unit, but with an extra attack, is is a good idea to allocate one attack against the enemy champion.

    The reasoning behind this is that the attack has the same chance of killing the champion as a rank and file model, but the champion is more valuable and dangerous so it's good to kill him. However, if you allocate several attacks against the enemy champion and cause more than 1 unsaved wound, you are wasting the extra wounds, which do not carry over to the rest of the unit. The Overkill rule (extra combat res for causing more unsaved wounds than the target has) only applies in challenges.
    Thou shalt remember:
    Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.

    LINK - Guitarists of LO Group

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts