Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was looking at the rules for charging (p.21 in 7th ed rule book) and it says if chargers are moving through difficult terrain or over an obstacle they can only move at half their speed. Does this apply to their whole charge or just the sections they are in the difficult terrain?
For example: a unit of knights (movement of 7) can see a unit of glade guard accross a 3' scrub (difficult terrain). the distance is measured and it turns out there is 10' between the two units. Do the knights charge forward 5 inches to the scub, then move 3 inches through the scrub (costing 6 inches of move) and then move the remaining 2 inches to the glade guard, OR does this count as a failed charge and the knights only move up 5 inches to the scrub and then 1 inch (counts as 2) into the scrub.
In essence, my question is if you are only moving through difficult terrain for part of the charge, does that reduce your overal charge distance by half or only count the part you are in the difficult terrain as double.
You only double the distance for the period that you are moving in the difficult terrain.
From what I have gathered from reading the rules is that the cover rule only applies to when you are actually IN cover. so if you are 10" away from the cover you can move those 10" as normal but once you get to the cover the rest of your move is doubled. So 3" in cover would be 6" in a normal move.
So your move would be 16" total with 10" normal move with 3" in cover
Thats how I interpreted the rule
Be careful following wood elves into the woods since most of them dont have the cover penalty.
Hope this helps
An important Note!!!
If the scrub were 3 inches wide, models on 50mm long bases (Cavalry) would be "in" it for 5 inches of movement for a total cost of 10 inches move to get all the way to the other side. You're not 'out' until the back of your base is 'out'.
A question along these lines came up during a game we had the other day. An individual monstrous model, the carnosaur for example, does it count movement penalties for terrain while moving through the terrain?
We looked in the monster section, we looked in the character section, we looked in the skirmisher section, but no where did it specifically state one way or the other if it took penalties for moving through, in and out of the terrain.
The same question came up for a hydra and a stegadon. The razordon/salamander specifically states that the unit is a skirmishing unit, which one would assume that you are unhindered by terrain even though the razordon/salamander is on a 40mm base.
I told the group that they were indeed penalized by the terrain in their movement, but when asked to show the rule I couldn't find it after almost a half hour of looking at dozens of pages.
Anyone able to point me in the right direction?
Everything is penalised by difficult terrain. Only exceptions are given in the rules (skirmishers and man sized single models). So yes, your Carno will move at half movement because in the monster section it does not state that he may move through DT w/o penalty.
Razordons/Salamanders are Skirmishers, so follow the rules for being so. They do not suffer DT penalties. It also states in the LM book that they arent monsters (despite rolling on the MRC).
Last edited by Phoenix; May 15th, 2009 at 22:43.
When these questions come up, you need to look up the basic rule first. In the BRB the default rule is it causes double your move while traveling through it. Then you look for exceptions. Salamanders/Razordons are skirmishers and as with all skirmishers they ignore difficult terrain. Your basic monster doesn't have any exceptions, so they follow the default rule. Treemen have an army wide rule that they ignore woods, so they aren't slowed down in woods. The hydra has special rules in the second FAQ, so they are not slowed down by difficult terrain, except when they charge.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Thank you for your support. I knew that's how it worked, but sometimes when people cast doubt on you, it can confuse you.