Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can anyone shed some light onto how redirecting charges actually works? I've never really understood it.
Redirecting charges works by changing the alignment of your units. Lets say for example that you have a unit of spearmen in front of me that you plan to use to charge my archers next turn. Now I don't want you to do that, but I also don't want to move my archers, so I take my great eagle and put it in the way. Now when I place the eagle, I angle it in such a way that when you charge it, and align to it, you are facing a direction that won't let you overrun into my archers.
Of course I can also flee with the eagle, pulling your spearmen off to the side of my archers. This is useful for setting up counter charges as usually I can pull you to a position that lets me charge with a unit that I held back, into your flank.
Hope that explains it,
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
'redirection' the tactic sirkently did an excellent job of explaining.
There was a rule in the previous edition of the game colloquially called redirection that allowed you to actually change the direction of a charging regiment. That rule is long dead and gone, but it seems like a lot of people just can't seem to let it go. I still see it come up in our league here when someone tries to do it and refuses to believe it's just not a rule anymore.