Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Encountered a situation in a game last night which has never happened to me in 15 years of playing Warhammer.
My opponent was firing a stone thrower, actually a scrap thrower, towards my knights on one edge of the board. He guessed long and the guess took the shot some 4 inches off the board edge.
To me it seems obvious it was a miss however he maintained that since the post scatter roll is the actual hit location, then as long as the centre of the template scattered back onto the board the shot was fine.
This all sounds a bit rules lawyer like to me but checking with the other half dozen players at the club produced an even split on what the interpretation was. In the end we diced for it, he won and the shot scattered further off the board.
Any thoughts or better still a point to an official clarification, as the rulebook didnt seem to say. Not that I imagine it will happen again for a very long time.
Two ways of looking at this.
a) No, it's a miss. If your opponent can't even hit a battlefield then too bad.
b) Technically speaking the board edge counts as impassable terrain for the purposes of movement other than fleeing and pursuing. So possibly just have the template stop at the board edge and scatter from there.
But for my money the shot misses.
I wouldn't have the shot scatter from some indeterminant point off the board that would get way to messy, Whats next? Targeting units that have pursued off the board with speculative stone thrower shots?
"God is dead" Nietzsche- 1886
"Nietzsche is dead" God- 1900
Why are there scams? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q71FLDIMBc8
I want to say there is a line in the BRB that covers this, but I would need to check when I get home. But I think it goes like this... Since the aim point was not on the table, the shot is assumed to missed/gone way too far. It can not "scatter" back onto the board.
I think MC BG is right.
I'm also of the opinion that it is a wasted shot...
But I can't find any rule to back that up. If somebody can, that'd be great! =)
Okay, I scoured the book and could not find anywhere where it specified that a shot landing off the board is automatically discarded. (this was/is a rule in 40k) Now, on page 92, it says that you guess the range and place the template over the spot where you guessed. My thought is that if it starts off the board, that is not an actual spot so the shot is discarded. (or it could be "over" the spot of nothingness, and then you start the scatter from there) RAW, I would be inclined to allow the scattering back on board (not that I would agree with it or be happy about it) I think this needs to be editted in the rulebook or fixed in an errata (i didnt notice anything in my cursory glance of the current errata)
I am not of the mentality of "just because its no in the book makes it ok."
My thoughts: the field of battle is the table, you shot has left the field of battle, it cannot scatter back on. However in the situation with your opponent, if you both have logical arguments its a d6 off 1-3 one person 4-6 other. This situation is vague, however most tournament will say what one sound person above said
"if you cannot even hit the table, you missed."
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
I agree with everyone above me but I would still allow it on this basis.
Though the shot was guessed off the edge of the board I interpret the guess as "setting the coordinates for the strike. the scatter dice is the effect of the wind on the shot making it miss target.
In warhammer online for example I would imagine they tried to get the siege weapon to match the tabletop version as closely as possible.
But in terms of tabletop, any good tabletop player knows the board edge is the edge of the world!
And what is the chance it will scatter back onto the board and hit the targetted unit.
Personally, i'd measure to where the shot WOULD have landed and go from there. The edge of the board isn't the edge of the universe.