Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had this question come up in a game recently.. can someone clarify the rules?
Can a single man-sized character on foot (like a Wood Elf Alter Noble) be march blocked if he is within 8" of the enemy, or can he still march like normal since he is just one guy?
A clear explanation with references would be nice, so I have something to quote if it comes up again.
An individual character is still subject to being march blocked. See page 72, which says man size models move as skirmishers. Then see page 65 for skirmishing movement rules. Its says they move as normal units except for the differences found in that section. (there are no differences that affect marching)
march blocking does not require a minimum size, anything that does (eg removing flanks/panic checks) always say "US/model count of x"
One guy can march block.
Painting: 20 quarrelers
This confusion may have come up because I'm pretty sure that this is a rule which changed with 7th edition.
But what the above guys said is all true.
In 6th ed, skirmishers and lone characters could not be march blocked, so they could run rings around conventional units. I would argue that only US5 monsters and ranked units and cavalry should be able to march block, as reading more realistic batte reprots from historic forces, one of the advatnages of cavalry was to bunch the enemy up as they moved to guard flanks. Against skirmishers, the approach of a ranked unit would be to charge them and try to bring them to battle, or else ignore them completely and weatehr their fire, as battles were won or lost by destroying the enemy "big blocks"
Join the LO army system! http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t&uniqueid=910