Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just another question for you all. When deploying, the rulebook states that 'Armies cannot be deployed within 12" of the middle line of the battlefield, so that more than 24" of no mans land will stand between the armies at the beginning of the battle.' I thought 12+12 was 24... Anyway, what i'm trying to get at is that say i have a unit of thunderers (dwarf gunmen) that have a range of 24" and they are deployed on the 12" mark at the end of my DZ. If i gain the first turn and he has deployed one of his units (at the 12" mark of his DZ) directly across from my thunderers, will they get to shoot? It would be great if this got cleared up once and for all, i'm sorry if this has been answered before or the answer is obvious. Thanks in advance.
I think that would be fine but your unit and your opponents unit would have to be right on the line with could create problems with people arguing over half an inch or something like that
Decide before the battle. But remember it swings in roundabouts. If you are just out of range then equally a normal infantry man (M4 march/charge 8 ) will be just out of range for the turn 3 charge.
"God is dead" Nietzsche- 1886
"Nietzsche is dead" God- 1900
Why are there scams? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q71FLDIMBc8
More than 24" is exactly that - more.
A range of 24", by definition, cannot exceed that value. Therefore all weapons with a range of 24" are out of range unless they move.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Rork and Ravendove are right. Although if as VQ says you agree otherwise before battel then that should be fine (for friendly games).
Another question along these lines...
My unit breaks from combat and flees (turned on spot then moved) 7". The enemy doesn't pursue. Next turn the same enemy unit charges. I (auto) flee another 5", putting a total of 12" between the front of the enemy unit and the rear of mine. If the enemies charge range is 12", do they cut me down or fall just short? (ending 1" behind my unit as per the rules).
They would cut you down. You should be exactly 12" away from them, and as this is there charge range, you would die. The issue that happens to come up is in the use of movement trays. Theorectically, they don't count for distance measurements, but are only used for convenience. This usually leads to units being fractionally out of range in this situation. But by RAW, you should be caught.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Cool. Thought so Just checking. Came up in a game the other week, just thought id clarify it while i remembered lol.
just use crossbows, nothing to worry about 24" wise then
Thanks, i thought that would be the answer. As for the crossbows that was one of the main reason why i asked the question. One point up for Quarrellers.