Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Greetings Folks, Orcs, Elves, etc.
First time posting here, but I check the forums occasionally for rules and tips, anyway- got a few questions regarding the idiosyncrasies of WHFB. Well I play high elves, and my two good friends I usually play with are Dark Elves and Vampire Counts, so our games are typically pretty bloody and full of rule lawyering. So a few questions to start my post off with:
1. My VC friend isn't happy about rear-charging my high elves and getting cut down by ASF despite his rear charge; are we processing this right? regardless of what side I get charged on, any models in base contact attack in order based on [who-hits-first (ASF)] rules correct?
2. Do Pegasi (a pegasus) count as monstrous mounts? For example a bretonnian pegasus knight would not since he is a unit strength 2 model, but if I have a (dark-elf) sorceress on a Dark Pegasus where the pegasus has 3 wounds and by definition of a monstrous mount: anything with 2 or more wounds in its profile, so a rider would not benefit from a +1 to armour save from riding it, and as far as allocating ranged hits on the unit, we roll to determine whether they hit the rider or mount correct?
3. Last question for now, since I am getting tired and I keep getting sidetracked from posting this: After being rear-charged and winning combat, does having a free reform count as being able to face your unit so its no longer a rear attack? or whats the best (and cleanest) way to resolve combat after being flanked or rear-charged and both sides hold? I've read some other posts with questions related to these issues, but I feel I get the best answer if I post my own topic. Also thank you for taking the time to responds to my posts, just number your answers based on which question they apply to, thanks!
Last edited by Clintczaia; June 5th, 2009 at 06:41. Reason: Topic title change
Welcome to LO!
For #1, it is called *always* strike first, not "Always strike first except when charged from the rear." You're playing it right
You're right for #2 also. More than one wound = monstrous -> no armor save bonus, randomize shooting, target separate in combat, etc etc etc
For 3, you don't get a free reform, you get a free turn or you can add and remove ranks. So you can in fact turn 180 and the enemy won't be on your rear anymore next turn. Mind you this is only if you win despite being rear charged! The difference between turn and reform is more significant if you get charged in the flank, and people often do it incorrectly. Also note you can always move an unengaged character into combat during your movement phase if you want, even if you lost.
Thanks for your responses, seems the game always slows way down and gets real messy for all of us when trying to resolve post-combat manoeuvres since everyone interprets the BRB differently, plus our last FFA game offered us a chance to play out 6 different units from 3 opponents constantly tied up in flank and rear charged combats. God I love this game, cheers to you all!
Seems kind of odd, I'd say post combar maneuvers are usually hardly ever used at all, maybe a couple of times a game. Or are you including moving units that are fleeing-pursuing and overrunning? That can certainly make a mess of the board
Correct, most of our basic combat encounters stay clean and is resolved without incident. We just have a hard time mutually agreeing on the eligibility of models being rearranged and reformed after combat is resolved and one side has won- especially when it comes to multiple units in combat with each other on multiple sides. It was our first close combat that was really that complicated so I think next time around we'll execute it a little better, thanks again for your feedback