Charging with a Single Flyer/against one skirmisher - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member Zeuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    28
    Posts
    115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Charging with a Single Flyer/against one skirmisher

    Checking to see if we're playing a couple of scenarios right.

    Alright, when charging with flyers, we usually used units of them. However, the question of a single, monstrous flyer charging finally came up when a VC player used his zombie dragon to charge a warmachine. He received the typical response of charging like a skirmisher, so no tactical wheeling. Looking over the rules to double check though, I think we might have gotten it slightly wrong. Instead, we're thinking you are allowed to pivot the flyer before he takes off, then charge. This would allow for slightly different overrun paths in the case of skirmishers & war machines.

    A second question came up when a unit of cav charged a lizardmen salamander. The cavalry unit went towards the salamander, but when they hit, only one of the cav models was in contact. It was decided that the salamander ranks up to the cav unit, so the salamander was moved in order to maximize the number of models.

    Thanks


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Alright, when charging with flyers, we usually used units of them. However, the question of a single, monstrous flyer charging finally came up when a VC player used his zombie dragon to charge a warmachine. He received the typical response of charging like a skirmisher, so no tactical wheeling. Looking over the rules to double check though, I think we might have gotten it slightly wrong. Instead, we're thinking you are allowed to pivot the flyer before he takes off, then charge. This would allow for slightly different overrun paths in the case of skirmishers & war machines.
    You did get it slightly wrong. On the charge, monsters get to make one pivot movement if they wish or if they need to (this may be used to optimise the charge, but must not be used to fail the charge). The pivot movement can be made, on the spot, at any point during the charge movement.

    A second question came up when a unit of cav charged a lizardmen salamander. The cavalry unit went towards the salamander, but when they hit, only one of the cav models was in contact. It was decided that the salamander ranks up to the cav unit, so the salamander was moved in order to maximize the number of models.
    You have this right. Skirmishers line up to the Charging unit once contact has been made.

  4. #3
    Monkey of Mystery The Paint Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,789
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    743 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Phoenix View Post
    It was decided that the salamander ranks up to the cav unit, so the salamander was moved in order to maximize the number of models.
    I'm not sure this is still true but it used to be the case where you were obliged to maximise the number of your own models in combat- it said nothing about maximising the opponents. This is something occasionally overlooked but can be quite advantageous.
    No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!

  5. #4
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    As was said, you can pivot the flying charger anywhere along the movement path to set up the overrun that is most advantageous to you.

    Salamanders have a special rule. No matter what skirmish unit you charge, you must charge the closet one to you. As soon as your unit hits that model it stops. Then the skirmishers line up with your unit to maximize combatants. In the case of salamanders, they line up with your unit as normal, but the skink handlers go behind the salamanders, they don't have to join in the combat even if there is room for them to fit in.

    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  6. #5
    Member Zeuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Age
    28
    Posts
    115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Thanks for the responses!

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts