Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Since impact hits are distributed as shooting, does a charging chariot have to randomize impact hits against a war machine and its crew?
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
on this. does your oponent get hw/s bonus? or just Sheild bonus?
Painting: 20 quarrelers
HW+S. Impact hits are mellee hits in every way except for the distribution. (Note this also means the models killed are in fact mellee casualties and don't get to attack back, despite popular confusion to the contrary.)
So in effect, since they are melee hits, they would have to be 'distributed' against the enemy models which are in base to base - in this case, only the crew members, and not the warmachine.
No, that's the part of the process that the special rule overrides!
Choose who to attack
defender rolls armor saves
The 'mellee way' of choose who to attack is restricted to models in base contact. The 'shooting way' is not, we're using the shooting rules at that step.
What I confused the issue with (sorry) was pointing that when you get down to remove casualties, you're back in the 'mellee way' of doing it.
But impact hits are not shooting attacks, they're melee attacks.
They are only 'distributed' as shooting attacks, mostly for the benefit of characters within units.
But in this circumstance, I fail to see how a single chariot that charges a cannon has its impact hits affect anything but the crew who stand against the charge.
I don't see how it's different from charging a long single-rank unit on the end, being base to base with only a character, but killing off RNF guys behind her and not damaging her