Shield + hand weapon vs impact hits - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Shield + hand weapon vs impact hits

    Tried searching for a previous topic about it but failed. Do troops benefit from shield + hand weapon +1 AS against impact hits from a chariot, do they count as close combat attacks? Obviously realistically you would say no, but for the sake of precedence in the game, should we account for this bonus against impact hits. The BRB states the that the bonus only applies to close combat, and not against attacks from shooting, magic, or "other means." Last time we played, we accounted for the bonus, assuming it counts as close combat. Thanks for your responses and please no flaming


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    They are "attacks" made "in" close combat, so id say yes. Never seen this Q before tbh, i think most people, if not everyone, generally just accepts that the Parry bonus is always gained when fighting in C to the front.

  4. #3
    Senior Member MC Bone Giant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x1)

    Just as long as the hits are in the front then yes.

    and this is a pretty flame free board. I'd like to think LO'ers hold themselves to a higher standard. (or will get swatted down by a mod

  5. #4
    King of Librarium's Tombs Phoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Lancaster / Warwick, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    7,143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    579 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by MC Bone Giant View Post
    and this is a pretty flame free board. I'd like to think LO'ers hold themselves to a higher standard. (or will get swatted down by a mod
    Lol. Yeah, theres rarely any need to worry about any sort of flaming here We are all very nice people and very happy to help with any issues you may have

  6. #5
    Junior Member stratovarion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    57 (x1)

    yeah - unless you insult Phoenix's army book, in which case you wont know what hit you.

    Im 99% sure that you get the bonus. Yes it does seem silly to imagine a shield parrying an oncoming chariot but it seems right in the rules and its certinaly how Ive always played it.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks guys, its one of those idiosyncrasies that isn't specifically mentioned and I play in a group of people where everything is questioned and discussed in scenarios like this. Game on!

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts