Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In our local game group, we just realized that we may have been making a HUGE mistake (all of us) regarding armour saves. Please, help me clarify this issue using the following examples.
Let's say you have a model with an armour save 4+. He gets wounded from a strength 5 hit. I'm pretty sure that the model will get an AS of 6+, modified due to the strength. Now, suppose that the same model gets another wound from a S6 hit. Will the model get an armour save of AS7+ ? (meaning that he'll have to roll a 6 and then a 4,5,6)
We have read pages 29,30 of the BRB and some of us are still not clear. The part of the "better" saves (0+) seems pretty clear to all of us, but we don't know if you DO get to roll the save as in the example above. Or if you roll a natural "6", will you pass the save ?
Thank you for your answers. Your help is as always appreciated.
Best regards !
If you reduce an armor save below the the possibilty to make a roll, there is no roll. There no is opposite to rule to the 'A roll of a 1 is always a fail'.
The '6, then 4,5,6' rule only applies to shooting and nothing else in the game.
Hope that helps!
Arsenal is correct. If your armor save is modified to 7+ or greater, you do not get an armor save against that attack.
i use the 7+ rule as a quick way to figure out if you get an AS. take your Armor add the - and if it's 7+ you get no armor save.
eg, AS 1, str 8 shot gives you -5, which 1 +5 = 6+ as, AS4, Str 6 Shot(-3), 4+3 = 7, no save.
Painting: 20 quarrelers
in a fluff sense - this is to reflect the power of the blow just going either straight through the armour, or in the case of an ogre or something, just plain crusing whoever is wearing the armour.
The 6, then 4,5,6 rule for shooting is because even the most rubbish of archers has a chance of hitting something if they actually shoot an arrow from their bow. A couple of tin plates is never going to stop a gigantic shaggoth with a massive hammer splattering you halfway across the battlefield.
'War does not determine who is right, only who is left'
I am President of the Brunel University wargames society - PM me if interested.
Put simply, if your armour save is taken past 6+ you get no armour save.
1) Armour saves never get the "7 or more" rule - only shotting attacks go through this mechanic
2) As always, a roll of a 1 is a fail on armour save, regardless of the save being 1+, 0+ or even better (I think the maximum possible armour is something like -2+ - which STILL fails on a 1)
Join the LO army system! http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t&uniqueid=910
Master on Cold one, with Heavy armor, Enchanted shield, Sea dragon cloak.2) As always, a roll of a 1 is a fail on armour save, regardless of the save being 1+, 0+ or even better (I think the maximum possible armour is something like -2+ - which STILL fails on a 1)
-1 against shooting and 0 against CC.
Exaulted Hero, with Mark of Khorn, on Juggernaut with Enchanted shield (-1)
Dwarf Lord on Sheild Bearers, with shield and RoS (0+ shooting, -1 CC)
Those are the best i can think of.
Painting: 20 quarrelers
Lizardman oldblood on cold one, light armour, enchanted shield. -1+ armour save.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Just remember shieldbearers clearly states that the Dwarf lord's armour save cannot be better than a 1+. Just telling you so if you come up against a Dwarf lord you'll know!