Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So we are discussing the rules of fleeing. I'm not too sure the rules here so if I violate any just edit my post please. The rulebook states on page 102 that "you receive a number of Vp's equal to the points value of each enemy unit destroyed, units that are fleeing or have fled the table count as destroyed." Now if you read the paragraph above it it implies that this is at the end of the game. Sooo, I am thinking that units that are still fleeing at the end of the game give you victory points equal to their points value.
My friend argues that units that choose flee as a charge reaction should yield victory points to their opponent. His thinking is that the reason you would choose to flee is that you know they would be defeated and destroyed. So fleeing, although giving up victory points to the opponent would keep them alive, with a chance of rallying and possibly utilizing them later in the game.
From my understanding if someone charges a unit of my cavalry, and I choose to flee as a charge reaction (not from failing a psychology test or anything), then I am not yielding any victory points unless I am caught, which woud result in my unit being destroyed.
Am I right in saying that units that are fleeing at the end of the game are the only ones that yield victory points? Or do units that begin to flee, as a charge reaction, as being broken in combat, failing a terror test or whatever yield victory points immediately?
I'm so confused. Agh.
I could probably have summer that up with, when does fleeing yield victory points to the opponent? Is it only at the end of the game when units are still fleeing they yield vp's or is it any time they flee?
If it is as soon as they flee then that is crap. I could fail a psych test with a unit, give up victory points, rally, fail with the same unit, give up vp's, rally... you get the point.
Last edited by Adam55; June 14th, 2009 at 03:03.
Units fleeing at the end of the game count as destroyed, and only at the end of the game. It doesn't matter what caused the fleeing, how far they fled, or if they since rallied or anything else. If they are fleeing at the bottom of Turn 6 when VPs are being tallied, they count as destroyed. If you choose to flee and then rally, the unit is worth no extra VPs.
If not, units that fled and rallied before fleeing again would surely count twice for VP purposes, in which case I think I'll ditch my Empire to start up a Dwarf army.
Hope this helps.
Yeah, VPs are only calculated at game end. Those units that flee and rally are not 'lost' so don't generate VPs for your opponent. It would be a little odd if they did- the flee-and-rally feint is a popular tactic.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
Not to mention that it would be a bookkeeping nightmare.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
thanks for all the prompt replies!