Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A lot of people here use the power familiar on a lvl 2 (or lv 1) sorcerer, giving the extra dice to their lvl 4 sorcerer lord. However, I think that you're not allowed to do that.
Let's take a look at the wording of the Power Familiar.
Power Familiar XXX points
The familiar acts as a tiny magnet for rthe inconstant zephyr that power its master's spells.
The familiar adds one power dice to its owner's pool during each friendly magic phase.
To me it is clear as glass. It adds one power dice to it's OWNER'S pool during each magic phase. Which means that the character holding the power familiar gets to use one more power die than usual.
I know there are magic items that adds power dice to the main power dice pool , but I don't think the Power Familiar does. Fluff-wise it seems rather ridicolous to me. The fluff says that it powers it MASTER'S spells, not all spellcasting that is around.
I just want to clear things up a bit. So what do you guys think?
The owners pool = your teams common pool. I don't really see any other way to look at this seeing as how there is no such thing as each wizard having an individual pool.
Each wizard generates dice per level and then the army has a pool. I've never heard anywhere the wizards generating their own pool. I believe the wording is so that you can't get confused with it generating power dice each magic phase and not just the owners.
If it was, "Generates 1 power die to the pool" who can say that doesn't generate during your opponents turn?
While the book of secrets specifically states it can only be used by the holder of the book.
I ahve bene using the power familiar to generate pool dive useable by any wizard.
I have a question about the FAQ and Book of Secrets though. if you give the book to a non-sorcerer, they become like a level 1 for the purposes of casting. since they were not a sorcerer before, do they now generate 1 dispel and 1 pd?
I know the book only generates 1 pd useable by the model holding it, but since posession of the book makes you effecivley a lvl 1, wouldn's you generate dice based on your new found lvl 1 status? I'm thinking about an exalted or chosen champion here...
Don't look at the FAQ for the book of secrets just look at the description of the item. It specifically states he does not generate a dispell dice.
Hmm...If you give BoS to an exalted or a lord, they become a level one wizard. Can they then be equiped with arcane items? Scrolls? Power stones? Warrior Familiar even? I dont think it would be the most effective use of points, but can it be done?
Yeah, Archaom, you're totally right on that point!
There are two types of Power Dice: Those in the common power pool that can be used by every Wizard AND those that belong to each Wizard.
Those that belong to each Wizard are the ones you get from the number of levels your Wizard got (For example: A level 2 Wizard gets 2 INDIVIDUAL Power Dice, A level 3 gets 3, and so on...)
Those in the common pool ( 2 + any magic Item that adds powers) can be used by each and every Wizard. A Wizard cannot cast a spell higher than ONE more than his level (A level 3 can cast each spell with maximum 4 dice).
As for the question about the Familiar:
A Spell Familiar gives one extra spell to the OWNER! Not to whoever wants it on the field...
A Power Familiar gives one extra Power Die to the OWNER! Not to the common Power Pool...
For more information, check out the Rulebook under the title "Power Dice". It is written very detailed in that section
Hope It Helps!
If we look at the BoS: you get 1PD, 1Spell and you can use it on a non-wizard hero. All that for 25 pts. Now for the same amount of point we only get 1PD to the wizard only?! IMHO the owner is reference to the player and my logic says it as well.
Can anyone find another magic item description with the term owner used? Something like the the owner of the sword has +1S. I can't remember any descriptions that fits this.
Look at master of the black arts: Vampie generates two additionaly casting dice for ITSELF
Last edited by Nagash; June 19th, 2009 at 16:05.