Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My apologies is this topic has come up before.
My question is "Does Magic Resistance work against a spell which does not have a "target" unit, ie. one that originates from the caster? An example would be Cleansing Flare from Lore of Light.
Magic Resistance says that it is used if the unit is "targeted" by a spell, but if it is only "affected" by the spell, does it still work?
In other words, can a player use a unit's MR to supplement the dispel roll against a spell that affects the entire table, or a large portion thereof, just because the unit with MR is in the area of effect?
Reasoning, page citations and FAQ references, if available, would be appreciated. It is a topic of "intense discussion" at our club.
The careful application of terror is a form of communication in itself - Zutta Law #4.
No, per the latest main rulebook faq.
Page 95, Magic Resistance, first paragraph. The
second sentence should be replaced with:
‘The number in the brackets indicates the
maximum number of extra dice that may be rolled
when trying to dispel each spell that is targeted
against the magically resistant unit.’
Flare spells such as the one you mentioned don't target specific units, so MR doesn't work.
it's a dicey topic. RAW says no. but most will allow it if it's things like (unit takes 2d6 hits ext) Comet is a no b/c it is targeted at the table not the unit. i personaly would allow it against flare/drain life ext.
reason behind that is in the Tomb King FAQ it says that you can use MR (once mind you) on the casket. that doesn't target a specific unit but every unti is effected by it.
Painting: 20 quarrelers
See this thread for a discussion about this subject. http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ct-spells.html
Note that MR works against the TK's Casket of Souls' Light of Death seeing as how there is the TK FAQ stating as such (even though its older)
The main spell that has caused some bother locally here is Vampires, Wind of Undeath. MR from a unit on the table or not? It doesnt target the unit but it sure does affect each unit.
What would you guys say?
-Originally post by MC Bone GiantThe purpose of coming out with new FAQ and Erratais to fix rules and confusing situations in older books and even in older faqs, so no, MR does not work against the TK casket.Note that MR works against the TK's Casket of Souls' Light of Death seeing as how there is the TK FAQ stating as such (even though its older)
No MR against Wind of Undeath. I dunno, I think the Errata is quite clear on the matter. The spell must target the MR unit for MR to take effect. It's a quite deliberate change to the rule. One assumes because of how easy it is to get MR in some of the newer army books.