Combat resolution @ multiple enemies - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Age
    34
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Combat resolution @ multiple enemies

    I have the rule book and giving it a good read, but cannot seem to find the answer to the following

    If my Dwarfs are in combat with Gobline Spearmen & Archers to the front - is the CR worked out per individual unit or is it worked out based upon overall totals on each side.

    ie.
    Dwarf Warriors finishes with a CR of 4, Goblin Spearmen finish with CR of 5 and Goblin Archers a CR of 4
    or
    Dwarf side finishes with CR4, Goblins finish with CR of 9

    Thanks


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    Combat resolution is across the whole combat. Remember that you only count the maximum rank bonus and one banner.

    SO unless the goblins killed 6 Dwarves, they wouldn't have a CR of 9 (sounds like they had ranks + standard in both counts, and maybe +1 for outnumbering?)

    You wouldn't count ranks on the archers + ranks on the spears + banner on the archers + banner on the spears, unless tehre were special rules to the contrary...

  4. #3
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    And mass is done by comparing the total US of each side... so, using your example, if your dwarf unit was the largest in size but the two goblin units totalled to a higher count, the goblins would get mass (once).

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Age
    34
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    So for example:

    Dwarf warriors fighting both gobbo spearmen & archers to the front.

    Dwarves kill 2, Gobbos kill 1 (dwarves kill 1 spearman & 1 archer)

    All units have standards, and both gobbo units out number dwarves with 4 full ranks each compared to Dwarves 2 full ranks (both including first)

    Scores would be:
    Dwarves = 4
    Goblins = 6

    Would that be correct?

  6. #5
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    Dwarves kill 2, Gobbos 1
    Dwarves have 1 rank + std = +2
    Gobbos have 3 ranks + std + outnumber = +5

    Therefore the Dwarves score 4, Gobbos score 6

    So yes you are correct

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Age
    34
    Posts
    84
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Thanks, much appretiated.

    One last question

    If I have Dwarf Warriors using Great Weapons, but also armed with a shield, would I be right in thinking they would not be using the shield in close combat, only against ranged (unless they choose to use the shield before combat began)?

  8. #7
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    that is spot on.

    Regards,

    Hemal

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts