Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This doubt arose on a recent practice game against the High Elves. I was playing O&G and had a Boar Chariot which charged my opponent's Dragon Princes (or something like that), they were cavalry and they obviously have that ANNOYING ASF rule...
Here's the situation after my chariot charged, as best as I can picture it:P: Dragon Prince Cavalry modelCode:P PPPPP XX XX
X: Boar Chariot model
OK. You can see that my chariot had three horses in base contact. I rolled for impact hits and got a smoking result of 6+1 = 7 impact hits!. I wounded with 5 of those and four of the horse-elfs did not passed their armor saves ! This left my opponent with only two models left in his unit.
Now the questions: Considering that all the models in base contact were destroyed, does my opponent get a chance to retaliate against the chariot ? Does my crew and boars get a chance to finish the remaining two models ? How do you work out this situations ?
Thanks in advance as always for your helpful answers.
It says that impact hits are distributed like shooting. So after your charge there will be two models still in contact with your chariot and combat will proceed as normal. His two models will attack, then you would attack back.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Hit are distributed like shooting meaning you can't trample a character with your impact hits, but models are still removed from base contact first, meaning the elf player has no one to strike back, unless one of the models was a champion, then he can attack back, also your boars and orcs can still make there full attacks.
(Bustacaps beat me to it xD)
I disagree (with sirkently-sorry), but the rules seem inconclusive
1) distributed as shooting would refer to the way the hits are randomised,
2) wether the knights get to fight back, you can decide only one way: are they in close combat at the start of the combat round, i would say that is before any impact hits are rolled
these knights are filling gaps
I find nothing inconclusive about it. p63:Distribution has to do with which group of models the hits are allocated to. It takes the place of the attacker's choice allocation that is normally the case in mellee. However, that is where it ends, allocation. They are still close combat attacks and follow all the rules of close combat from that point. Those hits that are allocated to rank & file then proceed to wound and kill rank & file like any other close combat attack. It clearly says "hits are distributed like shooting" No other part of the process uses shooting rules.Remove any casualties as detailed in the Close Combat section. Like other casualties of close combat, models killed by impact hits do not get to fight.
Thank you very much for your answers.
InquisitorAffe, your answer with the quotation of the BRB is very clear, I must have missed it in our practice game. The text is VERY clear.
Now just to clarify, do the remaining two horse-elfs get to attack first ? Or do the rest of the crew and boars attack freely ? Following the current answers, I'll say that the elfs DO NOT get to attack back (according to normal close combat rules) and my remaining models DO get to attack.
Am I correct ?
If the Elves still had a champion, he would attack first (since the hits can't single him out). Otherwise, all models in contact are dead, leaving no Elves to strike before the crew/beasts.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone