Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hail, friends. I come to you know in dire need, but be swift, what I desire is in direct conflict with the High King himself, Ulrik Flamebeard! For days hath I scoured that holiest of texts, keeper of sanity and reason, defender of the light, the Big Red Book, yet in my search I have found not what I seek. So it is in desperation that I turn to you good men, in hopes of salvation once more. My good companion, who bears my armies battle standard rides to battle with me, yet the banner is so large and unwieldy, I fear it may affect his combat abilities. Might he be able to bear the honorable armies standard and still fight with sword and shield or perhaps a greatsword?
I've been looking everywhere but I can't find the rule saying what a Battle Standard Bearer can be equipped with. Does the Battle Standard take up one "hand slot", therefor making it impossible to use a shield/two-handed weapon?
It depends entirely on the Army Book. There is no more universal rule that he has to use a hand to hold the banner. It just depends on if your particular book makes it possible to equip him in that manner. If so, we can assume he plants it in the ground and defends it with both hands, or something. (Or perhaps simply hits people with it, in the case of say, Orcs... )
So, unless it says he can't use a shield or so on next to the BSB entry in the heroes section he can use them?
Off the top of anyone's head, do they know if WoC or Bret BSB can use shields/two-handed weapons?
yes a bsb can use a shield unless stated otherwise in the army book.
im reading through my army books and they are quite different.
i think all of the armybooks share the first rule: bsb cannot use magical items IF they use a magical banner.
The bretonnia book says this though: a bsb cannot use anyextra equipment except for a mount. note that magical shields etc also count as equipment. So no shields/great weapon for brets
The WoC on the other hand has only the first rule, no other rules. These guys can use other equipment. i think this actually makes sense: Baal has his banner on his back!
WoC BSB's can be equiped however you want. Brettonian BSB's cannot have any extra equipment, so no shield or two handed weapon.
Seems to be a disconnect between the newer and older books. In the 6th edition books they weren't allowed to carry anything else. The newer 7th edition books have done away with this stipulation.
Edit: Digger beat me to it.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Like the chaps before me have said, it depends entirely on your army book. The older books restrict the equipment that a BSB can use, which is effectively restricting him to only using a one handed weapon because he's got the banner in the other hand. The newer army books (I believe from the High Elves onwards) let a BSB use any equipment that the regular hero equivalent can use. Just imagine the banner is strapped to his back or planted in the ground.
Thou shalt remember:
Warhammer Fantasy armies do NOT have Codices. They have Army Books.
LINK - Guitarists of LO Group