Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Sorry to ask so many questions but a few more came to mind from the last game I played...
1. When wounded by a sword that says "All unsaved wounds deal d3 wounds instead", does a Troll only get one regeneration roll, or does it roll against all wounds dealt?
2. I always knew that only unit strength 5 negated rank bonus when charging the flank or rear, but I guess I didn't notice that you must be unit strength 5 to get the combat res bonus as well. Is there even any point to flanking or rearing with less than 5 unit strength?
3. This a a follow-up for question 2, it says if a standard is in the front rank the bonus is given. Does that mean a unit that is only being attacked in the flank with a standard in the front will still get the bonus?
4. Unit strength and ridden monsters. This is just a clarifying question. If I have a monster and rider combo, it says the unit strength is that of the monster +1. If the monsters starting wounds are 4, will that monster and rider be unit str 5 for the entire game?
Does anyone have a link to a PDF for the FAQ? It could really help me out.
1. i dunno ask sirkently
2. theres no extra bonusses when flanking below str 5 no, other than overrunning and positioning
3. if you flank charge, the unit's front stays the front, hence the front is in the direction the troopers are facing. you get standard bonusses if only a flank is engaged.
4. as long as both the models are alive they will have unit str 5, no matter how many wounds they suffered
the direwolf FAQ is in fact linked in the sticky in this very 'rules help' thread
but ill put it here again Warhammer FAQ Compilation presented by Direwolf
the official gw FAQ and the armybook erratas are on their own site, im too lazy for that link.
ffs he just types too damn fast
Last edited by Digger; July 31st, 2009 at 22:54. Reason: he beat me to it
There can be other situational benefits to hitting a flank. For example, defenders armed with spears won't be able to fight back in ranks, a chariot's steeds won't be able to attack, etc etc.
And they wouldn't get a hand weapon/shield bonus to armour saves if they had one.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Just to further clarify this one:1. When wounded by a sword that says "All unsaved wounds deal d3 wounds instead", does a Troll only get one regeneration roll, or does it roll against all wounds dealt?
After wounding the multi-wound model (say, a troll), the model would then roll all armor, ward, and regeneration saves it has. If it fails all applicable saves, you then roll the D3 and the model suffers that many wounds. (Basically, anytime you're dealing with multiple wounds, you roll that after any applicable saves are taken against the initial wound, not before, followed by multiple armor saves.)