Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Yesterday during one of my games my opponent started butting heads over the subject of casting into battle with spells during one of our games. I was playing tomb kings and he was playing lizardmen with a slann that had the Lore of Metal. While my Tomb king and tomb guard were in close combat with the Slann's unit he tried casting "Law of Gold" upon my tomb king.
The argument was thus: I stated the part in the rule book that says "Wizards cannot cast spells at units in engaged in close combat, unless the spell only affects the caster himself or the spell's description specifies otherwise." His rebuttal was that sense the spell says" This spell can be cast on any enemy unit within 24" of the caster." , that the "any" ignored other spell casting restrictions including casting into battle.
Is this true? Or does a spell have to plainly say "This spell may be cast into battle" to ever be possible to be cast into the battle?
'any' does not mean it can be cast even in combat.
there are several spells that can be cast into combat, and all of them state it plainly in the descriptionof the spell. (Shades of Death in lore of shadow for example) this spell is obviously not one of those.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Spells can't be cast into combat unless they specifically say they can. "Any" in this context means that the wizard doesn't need line of sight to the target, not that he can ignore the other rule.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Commonly, for those cases you'll see a note such as "can be cast on any enemy unit, even if engaged in close combat". If there is no such description, the spell cannot be cast into combat since the effect could as well hit yourself as the opponent.
//Nagash, the Corrupt
Ask Nagash! Click on the banner...
WiP TK Army!
Thanks for clearing this up everyone, I really appreciate it.