Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Could someone explain to me how Mannfred can take two arcane items and circumvent the normal restriction of 1 arcane item unless the 2nd+ is a scroll/stone? It says he can take two arcane items, which means he could take a staff and a scroll/stone and still fulfill the specifications. I didn't see anything in the FAQ and the VC book didn't have the word "any" or the like. So, why does he break the normal rules?
Thanks and sorry if it's obvious.
He is a special character. Most special characters break the rules somehow.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Are *you* going to stand up and tell him he can't have it...? Didn't think so!
Its a specific exclusion, liek many other specific exclusions, like for example how Teclis can just by being Teclis, cast IF on any double, as if equipped with a 100 pt magical item. Or how Konrad CAN'T cast spells, as he is an idiot, despite being a Vampire.
These things are relatively normal in teh realms of special characters, most special characters break teh mould in some way for teh nomral boundaries of characters of their race, otherwise they wouldn't be special!. Treat them as the legendary personalities who lead their race, paragons of their society and much, much harder than their kin.
Join the LO army system! http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t&uniqueid=910
What I meant was, what in the wording of Mannfred's description allows him to "break" the rule? With Teclis, it states he IFs on doubles; I haven't been able to find anything with Mannfred that overrides the limitations of item selection. As far as I could see it only says he selects 2 arcane items. It seems to me that it could be interpreted to mean he can take an arcane item followed by a dispel scroll or power stone; that fulfills the 2 arcane items in his unit entry. Why is it that people think he can take "any" two arcane items?
People THINK that because it would be weird to phrase it that way and mean 'he can take a normal wizard's allocation of arcane items'. It exactly says' he may also be given 2 arcane items from the artefacts of death section', it doesn't mention a restriction so people don't see one.
i dont have acces to the vampire armybook, but
If his rules state he has the option to take two arcane items then it will not refer to a dispel scroll, simply because this item is allready allowed in multiples to any caster.
thats right, any wizard may take several dispel scrolls if the points allow it!
and this will definetly not be noted in any special character's rules: It's in the rulebook.
also, InquisitorAffe makes a point
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Digger: I'm sorry if this is being nitpicky, but not any wizard can take a dispel scroll. Normally, special characters who are wizards cannot take any other items besides the ones on their profile. In Mannfred's case, he is NOT allowed as many dispel scrolls/power stones as he wants since it says he may select two arcane items. And I'm not quite sure what InquisitorAffe's comment has to do with this, since by the nature of my original post, I AM questioning the ability of Mannfred to have two arcane items and break the standard equipment rules.
moob: *Irrelevant now.*
*Edit: Found it in the magic items section. Guess I should have looked over it more closely. Thanks guys.
Last edited by Zeuy; September 8th, 2009 at 20:25.