Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm sorry if this has been answered before, I've taken a look through the lists and can't find it.
The rule book states that 'models that are removed before they have chance to attack may not do so... any casulaties inflicted will reduce the number of attacks back' during close combat.
So if one unit at five wide assaults another at five wide and causes five wounds, the wounded unit has no one in the front rank to attack back and must wait until their turn as the ranks are redressing themselves (ignoring champions etc).
But my question involves situations where more than the first rank is destroyed (I play VC and this can happen!)
The rule book goes on to say 'excess casualties are removed as normal. This represents the attackers springing forward and following up their assault by striking over the fallen bodies of their foes'.
I can understand that the person in the second row is minding his own business when his comrade is struck down infront of him and 'such is the ferocity of their attack, and the surprise caused by it's success, that the excess casualties are struck down where they stand.' - because it'd be daft in a war to actually watch what's going on infront of you!
And I can therefore understand that the row behind the excess casualty can't attack back due to the rules of redressing the ranks and waiting until their turn.
However what about the model to the left or right of the excess casualty???
The attacker has sprung forward and followed up their assault by striking over the fallen bodies of his foes and has therefore moved forward into a new rank, so surely others who would be in base contact (as the attacker is stood where their comrade lies) would have the chance to attack back. Otherwise we would have to assume such is the blood lust of the attacker that they sprung forward to carry on their extra kill then (!) calmed down and had the presence of mind to spring back before the enemies on the left or right realised they were in a fight.
My chums and I have debated this at length and are actually in agreement that they should be able to (with the understanding that the kills are taken from the edges of the next row so there will only ever be one extra attack.) however as the rule book is unclear we're wondering how the tournament folk view it.
Also along the same lines, if my skels are armed with spears (and therefore fight in ranks) and there are kills beyond the first rank does the third rank get to fight back. i.e. six kills with ranks of five. mean there will definately be four returned attacks (all from the second row) but does the skel from the third rank in front of the killed comrade from the second rank get to attack as although they are not in the second rank they are in a 'subsequent rank' as described under fighting in ranks on page 55.
If you have a rank of 5, and more then 5 are killed?
You simply get no attacks back. (Not including champion)
I think you are thinking a little to much into how the game works.
But simply if your rank that was in combat is killed, that's it no attacks back...even if more then the single rank was killed.
As for spears, my guess is you wouldn't get an extra 2nd rank if one rank was already killed. But i never use spears so I am not exactly sure on that ruling
Last edited by gdsora; September 13th, 2009 at 09:51.
Any surviving members in the 2nd rank of a spearmen unit may attack as normal. That's part of the benefit of them!
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
feel free to clarify your post, or to link any rules if you think RAW or RAI or is different.
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Last edited by sirkently; September 13th, 2009 at 15:07.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Page 55 of BRB...any model in the second or susequent rank can fight if it is behind a model that is engaged in close combat to its front.If the model that the spearmen is behind is dead, then he is no longer in combat, ergo no spear attack.
Thanks for the replies,
I can't believe how many nuances there are to the game. I'm sure i'll have many questions to come!