Stand and shoot once per round? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Stand and shoot once per round?

    I just wanted to make sure:


    If multible units charge a unit of archers, do the archers get to stand and shoot at both units or only at one of them?


    add: Two more questions regarding stand and shoot!

    - If the charges charge from a covered position, like a wood, out through the open to reach their target who stands and shoots, do the chargers get -1 for soft cover aswell?

    - A unit stands and shoots, and it contains characters with shooting ability aswell. The unit shooting wipes out the charging unit, leaving only a character coming in at them. Do the characters who stand and shoot get to shoot at the charging character now, or do their shots count as having hit the charging unit rather than its leader.


    Thanks,

    Auere

    Last edited by Auere; September 30th, 2009 at 12:05.
    Dark Elves: Massacres: 14, Solid Victories: 2, Minor Victories: 0, Draws: 2, Minor Defeats: 0, Solid Defeats: 0, Massacred: 0

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Auere View Post
    If multible units charge a unit of archers, do the archers get to stand and shoot at both units or only at one of them? Only one of them.


    add: Two more questions regarding stand and shoot!

    - If the charges charge from a covered position, like a wood, out through the open to reach their target who stands and shoots, do the chargers get -1 for soft cover aswell? Yes, as you resolve the shots before moving the chargers.

    - A unit stands and shoots, and it contains characters with shooting ability aswell. The unit shooting wipes out the charging unit, leaving only a character coming in at them. Do the characters who stand and shoot get to shoot at the charging character now, or do their shots count as having hit the charging unit rather than its leader. They would all be shot at the unit.


    Thanks,

    Auere
    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  4. #3
    Member SkunkManFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I don't think that's right for the second point there...

    The stand and shoot is resolved as soon as the chargers are in range. So it could be that they have moved out of the cover in that time.

    It can only really happen when the charge distance is longer than the weapons range which isn't that often, but it does happen...cavalry charging miners with blasting caps etc.
    This Roman knows...

  5. #4
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    Indeed, it’s actually a somewhat important point when you consider missile units with characters mixed into them with a shorter ranged weapon.

    For example a unit of dwarf thunderers with a champion. The champion can (and often is) equipped with a brace of pistols. a unit of knights charge from 13" away. Normally the thunderers would fire with a -1 for long range and -1 for the stand and shoot. However, the unit does not fire until the champion himself is in range with his pistols changing the moment of stand and shoot to 8", within the short range of the thunderers Dwarven handguns allowing them to fire with only a -1 modifier.

    Quite the difference it must be said
    Last edited by Arklite; September 30th, 2009 at 16:26.


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  6. #5
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    I was assuming that they started in range of the unit they charge. But there are times when that isn't true, and others have pointed out the differences.

    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    194
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    What about a dark elf assassin with rending stars in a unit of shades, for an example. He only has a 12' range, so will the entire unit wait with their shot until the target is within his range?

    The entire unit including characters MUST fire at the same time, as soon as they are all within range? And they even have to fire at the same unit if there are more than one charger?
    Dark Elves: Massacres: 14, Solid Victories: 2, Minor Victories: 0, Draws: 2, Minor Defeats: 0, Solid Defeats: 0, Massacred: 0

  8. #7
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Auere View Post
    What about a dark elf assassin with rending stars in a unit of shades, for an example. He only has a 12' range, so will the entire unit wait with their shot until the target is within his range?

    The entire unit including characters MUST fire at the same time, as soon as they are all within range? And they even have to fire at the same unit if there are more than one charger?
    Yes to all questions.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  9. #8
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    The BRB specifically states you shoot at (only) 1 unit of the units that have declared charges. Since characters within a unit do not declare charge reations seperately, it is a simple extension to assume they shoot the same target...

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts