Overrun by catching fleeing unit? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member mishari26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Age
    43
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    Overrun by catching fleeing unit?

    Hi,

    We had this situation last night where 5 Wild Riders charged a single Ellyrian Reaver, which decided to flee.

    The Reaver fled only 6" and ended up right infront of a friendly unit of 6 White Lions which were facing the Wild Riders.

    The Riders' were able to catch him easily and we moved them to his back and removed the Reaver.

    Now here's where we weren't sure if we did it right or not.. as the Reaver got destroyed, we ruled that the Riders "Overrun!"..

    So they roll 3D6 and get 13", enough to Pursue into Fresh Enemies which are the WL's.

    The White Lions tested for fear and failed. They fled 10", then we measured and saw the 13" which the Riders rolled can reach the WL's.. so the WL's got caught and destroyed!

    Did we do all this correctly?

    Do you Overrun when you catch a fleeing unit and cut it down?

    And if so, would the Riders have been able to Overrun a 2nd time? and possible a 3rd and 4th and so on? I had to come ask it here because it looked possible to be endlessly recursive! and the charging unit can potentially travel way way farther than double its normal movement in a single turn?

    Thanks for bearing with the question


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    Sorry but you did this wrong. On a charge move, when the opponent flees, you move your full move (in this case 18") if he ends up inside this range. If he flees more than 18" away, you have a failed charge and move 9".

    Now, if the white lions were within 18" of the wild riders, they have a choice. They can complete there move and charge the wild riders, assuming they were in a straight line along there path. Or they can choose to stop 1" away from the white lions, though the fleeing model is still dead. If they choose to charge then the white lions would make there fear check, and in this case flee. But the wild riders are still limited to moving 18" on there charge so would be unlikely to catch them.

    As for the multiple overruns, you can't. Limited to one per combat round if I remember correctly.

    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    No, sorry.

    You only perform an Overrun when you actually fight the combat phase and wipe them out on the turn you charge.

    In this scenario, after the reaver fled, the Wild Riders then try to make the charge anyway. If the Reaver had gotten too far away, they would have made a "Failed Charge" move (half distance towards the fleeing Reaver). However, since you were still in range, you make your full charge move towards the reaver and past. This would kill the reaver - but you still only move your normal charge distance (which, IIRC, is 18" for wild riders). If this 18" would reach another unit, you could then declare a charge on them. So if the WL were <18" away from the WR, they could then charge them with the reaver having been run down.

    [Also remember, the WL would normally only need 6's to hit the WR if they failed a fear check, they'd only flee if the WR had more mass]


    As a separate note, a unit can also only Overrun/Pursue once per combat phase. It's possible to charge a unit, break/destroy it, and pursue into a separate combat that hasn't been fought yet. In that case, the unit gets to fight a second time, though it is unable to pursue again should the new combatants also break.



    ** Edit, bah, sirkently is faster than me

  5. #4
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    @Moob:

    nothing to do with this rulequestion, but:

    the wild riders are cavalry so have unit str 2 each. 10 total
    the WL only have unit strength 6 (and flee if they fail)
    =p
    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  6. #5
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    Doh, I missed the reference to the size of the white lions :p

  7. #6
    Member mishari26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Age
    43
    Posts
    154
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    Thanks all that cleared things up nicely

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts