Shield and great weapon - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Shield and great weapon

    If I use a Magic Shield, can I use its effect even if I fight with a GW ? I'm not speaking about the armour save bonus, but about its magical effect. As an exemple, would my enemy still loose an attack against my character if I used Shield of Gorgon with a GW ?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member stratovarion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Age
    28
    Posts
    328
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    57 (x1)

    I would say not. Logic wise you wouldnt be able to, because the shield is slung on your back and not being able to give you any bonus.
    Current painting project: 2300 pts of Dwarfs in 5 weeks.

  4. #3
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    A great weapon requires two hands. It doesn't matter how magical your shield is, it still requires a hand to carry.

    So you'll need a third arm...


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    My idea was that I cannot use the shield, of course, but its magical effect, why not ? I mean, we get all kinds of enchanted items, from books to small bones, why wouldn't a shield magical effect be there even if my character is catched off guard ? Or simply carrying on its back knowing what kind of protection and enchantments he carries with him while doing so ?

    Thanks guys, but I think I'll need some more rule specific answers, as opinions won't sort this out (I think that mine is as good as yours, so far. I know I would carry a shield and use a 2 had hammer... first it protects my back, second, I'd get its effect...)

  6. #5
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    On p54, the "Requires Two Hands" section has this:
    If a weapon requires two hands to use, it is not possible to simultaneously employ a shield or another weapon. If a shield is carried, it must be slung across the warrior's back or dropped behind him whilst he fights in close combat.


    So effectively, the rules are considering the 'slung across the back' and 'dropped' as the same (ie, no shield bonus), since nowhere else does it have a distinction between the two states. And this is also a permissive rule set... so unless you can find somewhere that says that you'll still gain the benefits even if you're not using it, you don't.

  7. #6
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    I dont mind people that try find holes in the rules to use in their advantage, but you must remember that your playing with other people.
    So if you try to bend a rule, dont go stating 'oh well i can use the shields' aura, because im not convinced about the counterargument.'
    Make sure you have a solid reason to assume otherwise!
    This is a very important thing because theres a whole lot of rules and holes in the books

    the 'requires 2 hands' Rules state if you do not have the hands to use the shield, you'r not using it. page 54 i think.

    If you want to claim that it does not count for the magic effect of the shield (or any other part of the item), you must come with something more solid, for example: heavy armour is a passive bonus because you dont need hands to use it. If the magic shield would have said 'this effect works even when its not used by the bearer' youd have an argument.

    anyways, what Rork says does not count as opinions, because hes our rulesgeek.
    Last edited by Digger; October 15th, 2009 at 16:35. Reason: doh either Moob writes tiny gnomish replies or im getting blind
    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    I'm sorry if I offended someone, the goal of the question was to simply 34 pts on my character.

    Fact is there's a huge difference beetween
    ''A great weapon requires two hands. It doesn't matter how magical your shield is, it still requires a hand to carry.'' which is half opinion and half ''everybody knows that'', countered by an opinion.

    and
    ''On p54, the "Requires Two Hands" section has this:
    If a weapon requires two hands to use, it is not possible to simultaneously employ a shield or another weapon. If a shield is carried, it must be slung across the warrior's back or dropped behind him whilst he fights in close combat.'' which I can't argue against.

    As I never paid attention to ''the dropped'' behind him section of the sentence, that answers my question pretty well. When a character uses a two hand weapon, he does not count as carrying a shield, even if it is not stated with those words.

    Anyway, I still get my sword of power...

    Thanks guys

  9. #8
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    yer i didnt have access to a rulebook at the time, sorry for the lousy quote.

    i really feel you cant just stick to something like

    "I know I would carry a shield and use a 2 hand hammer... first it protects my back, second, I'd get its effect..."

    when you know that the people you play against wont expect it.
    It doesnt even matter if you are wrong or right about the rule then,
    because the other player will feel screwed over.

    Once again, i dont hate ruleslawyering, just have a strong case before you attack the going rules
    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    144
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    We could argue on opinions value over and over again, I simply don't understand why mine was so BAAAAADDDDD oh yeah, I forgot, this is a warhammer forum, that's why.

    Who here has some real close combat hammernshield experience ?

    Who here has ever casted a spell from a book ?

    Why am I so rule concerned ? Oh yes, I forgot it was a game.

    And I forgot I could get spanked for this.

  11. #10
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Don't.

    It's not unreasonable to say that to get the benefit of an item, it has to be used in the "usual" fashion. You wouldn't get the benefits of a Sword of Might when firing a longbow, for example.

    Similarly, if you aren't able to wield a shield to protect yourself, it's not unreasonable to say that you don't get the benefit regardless of how many runes are on it.

    The game isn't about picking holes in the rules, and even though it is a fantasy setting, there is a level of common sense you have to subscribe to.

    Thread locked.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts