Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This situation arose last night between my HE army and a new Daemons player.
My 6x DPs charged his 30x Pink Horrors from the front, and my chariot with a character ontop charged its flank. like this:
Then after 2 combat turns, alot of the horrors died and the chariot lost contact with the horrors like so:
So.. in the main rule book p.46 it says that units who are fighting in the rear of the enemy can move forward if they lose contact.. but then they also say if they lose contact in general they are "out of combat" and are free to move or charge next turn..
So what happens to the chariot now? can it charge the Horrors again and cause impact hits? or should we just have it moved to its left to stay in contact? and how much should it be moved? just the minimum amount til it clips? or all the way to maximize fighting models?
Thanks to all rules smiters,
The chariot is just shuffled along, it is still in combat with the horrors - this is equivalent to the rear charger moving up.
Units generally end up out of combat because it's a large multiple unit combat, e.g.
If units A & C kill unit B, unit A will be out of combat at the end of the close combat phase. This happens because the unit they were fighting is dead. In your example the unit the chariot is attacking is not dead, so the chariot is just moved to remain in combat.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Thanks Rork, you're the man as usual.
Just to add, the chariot has only lost contact in your example because of the way casualties are typically removed, i.e kills from the front -> remove from the back. Ideally, front kills would be taken from the front and then the attacking unit (DPs) moved forwards to stay engaged. In this case, the chariot would not need to be moved, remaining in contact throughout.
Also note to point - it may just be your illustration, but when your chariot charged, you need to make effort to bring it into base contact with as many enemy models as possible.
Since chariot frontages are 50mm and demon units are on 25mm square bases, you should have been touching four guys.
In your illustration, it looks like you have the chariot clipping off the end of the horror unit.
If this is a result of charge distance, then it's okay. If it is a result of not wanting to risk your character by putting him against less enemies who can fight, it's a no-no.
but then still, do you move the chariot after every kill so it stays in contact with 4 enemy's? or do you wait until it has nothing left.
when we encounter such a situation we usually cover it by removing the casualties from the opposite corner.. in this example the top left corner. would that be ok as well?
'Its better to have a swordmaster and not need her help, then to need her help and not have her'
Byjugo's WIP Thread
Isn't that actually an optional rule about maximising teh number of enemy you are in contact with?
And removing casualties from an opposite coner would be fine...In this situation I would actually say that the DP and Horrors unit shuffle forwards/backwards as appropriate and anchor on the Tiranoc chariot unit - the convention is that casualties are removed from the rear rank, but this obviously causes problems...
Join the LO army system! http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...t&uniqueid=910