Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Couple quick questions regarding Challenges. When one single character charges another single character, is this considered a challenge? Technically I think if one were to challenge the other, it could not be turned down because there is nothing else to hide behind. I use a Van Horstmans in my Empire army is why I ask.
Secondly, what occurs when a single character challenges a full unit? If the challenge is accepted by the unit champion, does the rest of the unit simply loaf around since there are no other targets and they cant interfere with the challenge?
Thanks for any tips =)
if two characters were to run into each other and a challenge was issued, the other HAS to accept for there are no ranks for him to hide behind.
and yes the unit will sit around while a character murders a unit champ, if the challenge is accepted that is.
Further to the above answer - the only benefit that the unit will give is in Combat Res - ranks + banner + outnumber.
Unless you are absolutely sure that your character can murder the champ with overkill, I would suggest thinking twice about charging a fully ranked unit with a command group. (Who start at +5 CR) - remember that either side can issue a challenge, not just the one charging.
Dovie'andi se tovya sagain (It's time to roll the dice)- Mattrim Cauthon
so if there are just 2 characters in CC there is no difference?
There is a difference. If two lone characters face each other, and fight normally, other troopers can charge in and fight normally. If they, though, engage in a challenge, this is not the case. You can charge them, but no CR or attacks will help.
There are a few twists though. As described on page 77, the character can be hurt by impact hits from a chariot, if he's on his own.
Furthermore, even though other troopers cant ''fight'' him, magic items that have a base-to-base effect, still apply.
Also, many characters have special items or rules that only take affect in a challenge. The wood elf spite, annoyance of netlings comes to mind, and the OP's speculum. So it does make a difference.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
I think 1 time when it really matters is the Treeman Ancient with his "can only hit on 6s in a challange item."
plus i would think its what would happen if two characters who were enemies met on the field of battle!