Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Is there anything that can not march?
In regards to charging, does the unit you intend to charge have to be in LOS and within a specific arc? in other words, can you charge a unit that is behind you - or do you have to turn around and wait a turn to charge?
One last question, When you win a combat and destroy an enemy, is the unit allowed to make a free move that would allow them to face a specific direction? In other words, if a unit of spearmen flanked a unit of goblins, and destroyed the entire unit, can that unit of spearmen reform or move, so that they can face an enemy unit? (to avoid getting flanked themselves?)
Yes some things have specific rules againt marching. An example is chariots. They can never march, but still charge double their movement.
You need to have LoS in your frontal arc unless your are skirmishers. See the picture on page 20 of the rulebook for what the Front Zone is.
If you destroy a unit to the man, you do not get any special movement. There is one exception, if you charged into combat and managed to kill everyone in that combat you may elect to Overrun your 2d6 or 3d6 as if you were persueing.
1) War Machines and Chariots cannot march, nor can units with a random movement like Chaos Spawn or Squig Hoppers
2) The rules for charging and charge arcs are covered in quite some detail in the rulebook. And the answer is it depends.
A man-sized single model can charge in any arc, as can skirmishers.
Any other unit can only charge a target in its charging Line Of Sight which is generally a 90 degree acr to the front only...
Right-o, but riddle me this:
Pg 46So... why is it that in combat, we can change which direction we're facing, but not after we've claimed victory? Does anyone try fixing this with a house rule, or do you all leave it as-is?Units that have won the fight, but are still engaged in combat because their enemies did not break, can at this point execute one of the maneuvers below.
These free maneuvers can be executed only if the winning unit is engaged to just one of its sides (front, flank, or rear), and only in order to bring more models in base contact with the enemies. They cannot be executed if the unit is engaged on two or more sides etc...
-Winning units with enenmies to their front can perform a free change formation to bring more models into contact with the enemy
- Winning units with enemies to their flank/rear can perform a a free turn maneuver to face their enemies.
Leave as is TBH - if you win conmbat and are still in combat, generally it means that you've pushed the immediate opponent away sufficiently to rally your troops to better face the immediate enemy. When you have no enemy your troops are probably going to spend the next few moments gathering their breath - they don't KNOW about the heavy cavalry regiment thats about to flank them straight away...
Which is why its always better to break an opponent in HIS turn...