Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So, I just played my first two games of Warhammer Fantasy last night. I'm a lot time 40K player and some buds randomly decided to get into it. I read the rulebook over and checked up on most all the stuff I was confused about, but there was one situatioin no one knew how to deal with.
So...I had a unit of goblin spider riders get a full on flank attack against some dwarven warriors. The combat ends, I win, he passes his test, so combat continues.
My question is what kind of movement can his dwarves do? Can they turn around to face my riders so they don't get the flank bonus next time? Are they stuck in the flank position until one side dies or breaks?
(I ended up saying he could just turn and face my unit)
Page reference would be appreciated!
~ Rape the churches and burn the women!
Don't have any page numbers, but look at the last page of close combat, I believe that's where its at.
Basically if you're engaged in combat you can do 1 of two things IF you win that round of combat and your opponent didn't break.
1) If your opponent is in your front you can do an increase rank maneuver.
2) If you have no one to your front, but someone in your flank/rear you can turn to face them.
Remember, you can only do this if you won combat.
Actually, if the enemy is to your front and you win, you can perform a maneuver called 'Change Formation' in order to bring up to five models to the front, however, they must go into base to base contact.
Remember if you bring the enemy down to less than 25 models and are engaged on his flank - if he wins combat and turns to face you, he'll still not have any ranks, as everyone simply pivots left/right on the spot (not a reform), and any remainder guys will fill in to the rear.
So in several cases, if you charge the flank of an enemy, he'll actually have to win combat TWICE to get his rank bonus back.
Here's a crude example:
K - Knight
O - Orc
You have five knights that charged the flank of an Orc unit with only 15 men in it.
If the Orcs somehow win the combat, they can turn to face the knights, but now instead of being five wide, three deep - they'll be three wide, five deep - and a unit must have five wide to gain a rank bonus*.
Next turn if the Orcs win again, they can Change Formation to bring to front to increase their width to gain their rank bonus back.
*exception with Bretonnians.
edit: I was gonna edit the inadvertent smileys, but found them to be quite appropriate for the example.
Just adding a page reference to what Pinkus said.
p.46, under the Free Manoeuvres section. And the 'turn' in the second bullet is described on page 13 with some nice pictures (im not sure if they are better than MobiusPrime's pictures tho )
Last edited by tbeckett; November 30th, 2009 at 07:27.
I will add that if he lost combat, or won for that matter, he can move any characters and champs into base contact during his movement phase. They have to switch places with a regular trooper.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Yeah, win or loss, you can move characters into combat, but you can't move characters that already touch the enemy.
Yeah, that is a very common mistake made by a lot of people. Turning how you face doesn't turn your whole unit, but each individual model. So a 5x4 now becomes a 4x5.
Thanks for the info guys, cleared it right up <3
Oh, one more quick question though..
During a flank attack, are models removed from the rear of the attack point, or the rear of the unit?
Xs attack first, take out 2
X OO Front
~ Rape the churches and burn the women!
They are removed from the rear where they were killed, the middle diagram looks like the result.
When redressing the ranks (p.46) a unit must contain the same number of models in each rank as the first, except the last rank which can have less.