Tomb King rules questions - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Tomb King rules questions

    A couple of quick questions after playing against my friend's tomb king army.

    First - his chariots count as light cavalry. He had a unit of 4. At one point he needed to squeeze through a small area, so he said he could free reform move through the area and move back to his original formation. But does the movement of the models as they change formation count towards their movement? The rules for free reform says "as long as a model doesn't move twice its move" - is this any different for tomb kings or chariots who can't normally march? Because of the width of his formation, the end chariots would have basically ended up moving 15 inches or so.

    Second - a character on a chariot confused us some. He had a tomb king on a chariot, a champion on a chariot and two regulars. Do I have to allocate attacks to the TK and champion's chariot separately? Can he allocate his wounds from losing combat to those chariots? What does it mean when it says he can use the chariots save?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    320
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    29 (x1)

    The fast cavalry free reform section is clear to point out that the maximum move is double their move distacnce, "despite reforming"

    this means reforming into a single file line and reforming back to a long line will not cost movement

  4. #3
    Lord Admiral kithre's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Iver Heath
    Age
    39
    Posts
    2,608
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    220 (x8)

    As long as teh unit as a whole did not move beyond their normal movement and teh maximum moved by one chariot was 16", this is fine....

    Fast cavalry can do this without being able to march anyway - they can do this if within a few " of the enemy when their turn starts for example.

    As for the TK and teh champion - yes you have to allocate rolls to hit to the TK and champion seperately - just as you would for any other unit which had a character and champion. As for allocating wounds not sure about the crumble rule in reference to TK, but the crumble wounds are generally taken by the unit not by characters, there's not much advantage in doing this.

    Attacks against chariots with ridden characters are allocated to the character but unless I am mistaken the character may use the chariot's save if it is better than his own?

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Svendborg, Denmark
    Age
    28
    Posts
    404
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    28 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by kithre View Post
    Attacks against chariots with ridden characters are allocated to the character but unless I am mistaken the character may use the chariot's save if it is better than his own?
    When the opponent is in close combat with the chariot, he can choose to attack either the chariot or the character.
    Unless specified in the army book, he can not use the armour save of the chariot, nor does he gain a 2+ save. If it is shooting attacks, though, he will gain those benefits.
    Furthermore, if he chooses to attack either of the models, and destroys/slays it, any excess wounds, do not transfer to the other model.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    115
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    As to the crumble rule, yes he can allocate those wounds against the unit, the characters, or the chariots of the characters. Verbatim from the TK rulebook:

    "If characters are present in the unit, or if they are riding in a chariot, the controlling player can decide how to allocate the wounds among the unit, the chariot, and the characters."

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Ok. do I have this right:

    TK attack with 4 chariots - one champ, one with TK and 2 regular. lets say they are all in base to base with a 5 wide unit, that has 4 r&f and one character

    XXYYCCXX (x - r&f, y - champion, c - character)
    XXCXX

    ok so impact hits go against the unit. then combat. 4 horses and 4 skellies have to attack r&f, 4 horsies, champ, driver and character have to decide to attack char or unit. if i took no casaulties, 2 r&f have to decide to attack your regular chariot or champion. both regular chariot and champion have ws 3, toughness 4 and armor save 5+. 2 r&f have to decide whether to attack your regular chariot, character or character's chariot. character has his own toughness and weapon skill, and has a armor save of whatever equipment he has (no chariot bonus to save, that is only for shooting). character's chariot has ws 2, toughness 4 and armor save 5+. my character chooses between the champion, character or character's chariot.

    for combat res, you can place wounds onto r&f chariots (3 wounds each), champion (3 wounds), character's chariot (3 wounds) or character.

    right?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts