miscast and blue scribes - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member pippin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    miscast and blue scribes

    If the opponent rolls a '6' on the miscast table can I then choose a spell that the Blue scribes could possible cast or must I choose a lore and the spell is randomly chosen.

    thx,
    pippin


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    No.

    The Blue Scribes aren't a wizard as such, so cannot be used as the caster for that miscast result (and I would go so far to say no bound spell could be be cast as a result of that miscast).


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  4. #3
    Member pippin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    the GW FAQ says that bound spells may be used in this way and metions Prayers of Sigmar as an example

  5. #4
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    That'll be your answer then...

    It seems like you're doing just fine in putting the words together yourself. BS cast a bound spell.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  6. #5
    Member pippin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    well, my question still is, may I choose a spell from the chosen lore or roll one at random, I hoped someone here knew the answer to that

  7. #6
    i am da Wahhchief Digger's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    utrecht, Holland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,419
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    320 (x8)

    the miscast result says the opposing player may cast one of his own spells,
    Scribes' special rules say xirat can cast one spell, but you may only choose the lore and then random determine the spell.

    i'd say choose a lore and randomly determine it, as normal. I just dont see a reason to change his special rules.
    Eternal Newbie

    Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs

  8. #7
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    I would say that he can't cast a spell this way. It describes his ability as only being usable during his magic phase. That would lead me to believe by the letter of the rules that he couldn't cast a spell on the opponents turn, via the miscast table result.

    My view, until and unless overridden by an FAQ,
    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts