Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If I charge a unit that is say 20 strong and kill all bar 4 (don't ask me how!) and they flee does this cause a panic test?
That is to say I have destroyed the majority of the unit and their unit strength is reduced to less than 5.
It does not cause panic because, as you say yourself, the fleeing unit is below unit strengh 5.
But that is a different rule to the "friendly unit breaking form combat" rule. Use one, then the other.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
No panic test for them breaking from combat, as you are reduced below unit strength 5 before the breaktest occurs. However, If you catch them by pursuit, it falls under the unit destroyed within 6", and there would be a panic test, because this rule says there is no panic test only if the unit strength was under 5 at the start of the phase. In this case it would be unit strength 20 at the start of the combat phase, and panic is still a factor.
Thanks. I got the part about if I caught them then that would trigger a panic test (it caused a major disagreement in the last game i played when i killed an opponents Manticore and ran down the rider).
After the game we were discussing panic in general.
It seemed strange that you could kill 16 in a unit and break the unit and that wouldn't trigger a panic test but if you killed 15 and broke the unit that would trigger a panic test.