Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The codex is very bland about this so I am asking questions here.
- according to the rulebook, war machines cannot be combined units.
- The skaven rule book states the warp lightning cannon IS a war machine and has a combined profile.
This means the codex is overruling the rulebook which is fine. My question then becomes, because if is a war machine it follows all rules for a war machine unless other wise noted. If this is true, how does one deal with hitting the cannon. I understand the toughness of the cannon is used, but you still have the randomize where the shooting attack goes, be it the cannon or the crew. Because it doesn't specifically specify how many crew, do we count that number as wysiwyg?
Please include page numbers on comments as this is a heated discussion with my gaming group, GW has ruled it is a cannon and should follow all rules of the cannon, but that doesn't seem to be good enough for some of the people playing.
I cannot remember the page number, sry, but its in the entry of the war machine clarification. With weapons such as, bolt throwers and cannons, which do not use a template, you can only hit a single crew member per shot. Its like, if you line them up, on a single rank.
Even though its not the longest of replies, I hope this will suffice.
You do not randomize shooting or magic attacks, all magic and shooting attacks go against the higher toughness value, so the roll to wound will be the same on crew and cannon. The actual crew do not have wounds and are not removed while the cannon is alive, they share the pool of wounds on the cannon. When this shared pool reaches 0, cannon and all crew are removed.
The crew do have wounds, they are shared with the cannon, at least my understanding was that. You can see where the problem arises, War machines aren't allowed to have combined profiles, this one does....
Last edited by arcamas; January 18th, 2010 at 19:15.
Skaven armybook, page 68 (I think, the warpfire cannon page), Ponderous War Machine: "The Warp Lightning Cannon is a war machine and both it and the crew are considered to be a single combined model." Shooting at it follows the same rules for shooting at a single model. No randomization happens, any wounds caused come off the pool on the cannon.
gotcha, guess most of us missed the "No randomization happens, any wounds caused come off the pool on the cannon." part. So then to be completely clear. the warp cannon will never have to deal with efficiency issues of losing crewmen like every other cannon? OP
Last edited by arcamas; January 18th, 2010 at 19:40.
I don't consider this an argument, I consider this a valid rules question where we are all weighing in our interpretations. The new skaven book is full of units that do not follow the conventional rules and so we as a community must hammer out what exactly they mean.
Its the key words of Single Combined Model that make this unit not follow the standard rules. Yes there are 3 crew members in wysiwyg, but the whole thing counts as a single model. To fire it doesn't need any crew since the crew are already a part of the single entity. Crew models are only removed when the wounds pool reaches 0. Even in close combat, since it is considered a single model, if you wound it 3 times, it is still alive, none of the crew members are removed as casualties, and they can all attack back. The rules don't follow conventional logic, but its kind of how shield bearers for dward lords work.