Hellcannon movement - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member badmartialarts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Killeen, TX
    Age
    36
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Hellcannon movement

    Have a question. Hellcannons in the Warriors of Chaos book are said to follow the rules for monster and handlers. The rules for monsters and handlers pretty much just say 'acts like Skirmishers.' Now, the Hellcannon itself has a movement of 6, whereas it's 'handlers' have only movement 3. So if I wanted to charge something with the Hellcannon, would I be able to use it's movement of 12 or just 6? Also if I felt like moving it, 6 or 3? I guess I'm asking if the Hellcannon can jump ship on it's pokey handlers.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,568
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    280 (x6)

    So if you're doing basic movement, you're effectively a unit of skirmishers... which means you move at the rate of the slowest model (ie, the chaos dwarfs M3). So you can march 6" if you're not march-blocked. But on the bright side, you are not slowed by terrain.

    If you're charging, you completely ignore your handlers. This means you no longer count as a skirmisher (see the DE faq about how Hydras charge for a reference). Your target must be in the Hellcannon's arc of visibility, and you ARE slowed by terrain. At the same time, since you're ignoring your handlers, you charge at the speed of the Hellcannon for a potential 12" charge range with the chaos dwarfs tagging along at the end.

  4. #3
    Son of LO psichotykwyrm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Panama City Beach, Florida
    Age
    33
    Posts
    2,638
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    443 (x8)

    From the WoC FAQ:

    "Q. When a Hellcannon charges 12”, if the
    Dwarfs don't have sufficient movement is it
    OK to place them at the back of the
    Hellcannon in the same as charging with a
    skirmishing unit?
    A. Correct. The unit would normally move at
    the speed of the slowest model (i.e. the
    Dwarfs), but ,when charging, the handlers are
    completely ignored."
    "It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
    ---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes

  5. #4
    Member badmartialarts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Killeen, TX
    Age
    36
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Guess I should have checked the FAQ, thanks!

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts