Magic in combat - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Magic in combat

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    26
    Posts
    180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    28 (x1)

    Magic in combat

    Hey guys i have a quick question on how magic works while one is engaged in close combat. So I know you can cast spells while engaged in close combat, however you can't target the unit youre engaged with unless it specifies it can target a unit in close combat, and usually the unit youre engaged with is the only unit you can see. However if mounted on a large target say a dragon or a stegadon then you can see over that unit could you theoretically cast a magic missile at another unit while engaged in close combat if the other unit is a viable target for the spell?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Duo_Sonata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    Any magic missile spells are worked follow the same rules for shooting in that you are not able to fire when engaged in close combat. See pg. 110 of the main rulebook under magic missiles, final paragraph.
    Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
    Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    26
    Posts
    180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    28 (x1)

    Thanks for Replying that helps. So other spells can be cast though.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Duo_Sonata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    325
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x1)

    So long as target of the spell is not engaged in close combat unless otherwise noted. there is no rule forbidding magic users from casting while locked in combat so they can.
    Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
    Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts