Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My question is simple. Can a stubborn unit use the general ld to make their break test or must they use their own? I read the book and it seems they must use their own to benefit from the stubborn rule. Can anyone confirm this?
You can use whichever gives you the highest chance of passing - modified general's leadership or unit's stubborn ld.
(No combining stubborn with general's leadership in most instances)
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
The only way to combine the generals leadership and stubborn is if the general is in the unit, and he is also stubborn on his own.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Yep, they're all right.
Basically, stubborn ONLY applies to the leadership of the model who has it. It doesn't matter if the general is in the unit, or within 12". Here are examples.
You lose combat by 2. Your regiment has LD7, and is Stubborn. Your general has Leadership 10. You can use the general's leadership and suffer the -2, and have Ld8. Or you can use the stubborn LD of the unit, which will always be 7.
Your stubborn regiment loses combat by a whopping 9! Your general's leadership would now be 1, fat chance of sticking around huh? Well, the unit is stubborn, and is therefore LD7. Even if the general is in the unit, you can use the Stubborn7 for the test.
I'm not sure, but I seem to remember that you HAVE to use the highest leadership. Meaning that if your Stubborn Ld is 7, and your General's modified Ld is 8, then you must use the General's.