Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This question is in regards to the rule where a charging unit can redirect their charge into another unit when their first target opts to flee. In the rulebook it describes a situation where there are two units, the first directly in front of the second. If the first unit flees a charge through the second unit, the chargers can then charge them instead.
What would happen in a situation....
The second unit (O) is not in the direct path of the chargers (U), but they have sufficient distance to charge them with a single wheel. Can the chargers choose to redirect to the unit to the side or must they go in a straight line and fail to charge the first unit?
They don't have to go in a straight line, but they DO have to go towards where their initial target fled. If that path was taken and they would be able to run into another enemy unit, they could then make that charge.. See "Enemy in the way" of the main rulebook.
The second unit the chargers want to switch to is NOT "in the way" and would NOT be "run into". That is unless they were allowed to make a wheel. Could you be more specific in your answer?
If the first unit flees, you follow them up to your maximum charge distance (failing the charge if they get out of that). If a second unit is on that path you can declare a charge against them. Otherwise, no.
(Having two units labelled O doesn't really make it clear, by the way. Plus, try a graphics program...makes it even better)
Redirecting went out with 6th ed.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Ok thx Rork, and sorry for the crappy diagram