Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This question is pertaining to how spears fight in close combat.
In the rule book the rules say for spears that they fight in two ranks and that they do not get the extra ranks attacks if the unit is charging. But everyone always argues with me that you can only fight in two ranks when you get charged by enemy units and that you can only fight with the first rank in the subsequent rounds of combat. Now is this true or not?
Any insight would be helpful.
That is true. I dont have the rulebook at hand, but a unit charging with spears, only get to fight with one rank. But if you get charged, on the other hand, you get to fight in two ranks. Unless charged in the flank or rear.
No, spears fight in two ranks unless charging. So if you charge, you get to attack with the front rank only. In subsequent rounds of the same combat you will attack with two ranks. If you get charged, you will fight with two ranks in each round of combat.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
Awesome. Thank you for the answer. rep.