Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Howdy! Been gone from here plus the game for about 2 years....still no new book for TK!
Anyhow, a played vs. a friends Orks the other day and this situation came up,
A unit of 5 chariots plus the king in one attacks two lone Ork chariots grouped such that both were engaged.
C C TK C
first ork chariot is wounded, and the second, containing some Tincan warboss is destroyed. Warboss strikes back, destroys the Kings chariot and wounds him.
I would think my king is still in the combat, however, ONLY if he is mounted in a chariot may he be part of a chariot unit. If his car is destroyed, at phase end(hand to hand in this case) he must be placed outside of the unit.....
now, even were I to place him against the chariots, he was still out of reach of the warboss because of the size of his ex-unit...it seems like a messy situation with no clear answer. Any suggestions?
Last edited by Palos; March 3rd, 2010 at 22:32.
I agree with doing that, but also think it's a little strange, especially since the king is no longer a part of the unit and may than perhaps be considered part of a 'combat' involving 'multiple combatants. As such he would be outside of the combat and free to do as he liked from than on. I am looking at pg. 46 of the Battle for Skull pass rule book, at the end of the Close Combat rules.
Thanks for the reply...it seems that there is no definitive answer.
yeah....if I was playing with you and you suggested just this, I would certainly agree. In fact it's what I suggested, but my friend, even though he could have killed my King said to put him out of the fight...we kept him in though, orks fled, I didn't pursue, would have been bad.....anyhow,
Would you be able to say that your idea is 100% by the book, or just the best you can interpret them....
King is now in a separate unit, taken out of contact due to not being allowed to split the chariot unit....because the chariots have such a wide frontage, and they were 3 across, it seems weird to move them. Moving them too much suddenly changes what they threaten or are now threatened by....You say to move the orks, but why both the ork chariot and the boss? Is it because they were both touching the king? Now, less of the TK chariots will be touching the Ork chariot......lol.
I hope you don't think i am trying to argue with you, indeed, you are helping me and I appreciate it....I just want to determine the best way.....ha!
There's kind of a precedent in the rules. If a character riding a mount joins a unit and that character is killed, the mount will leave the unit when the combat is over but continue fighting. So why not the same when it's the other way around? That's in FAQ part 2, under Characters and Challenges.