Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
How would the spell Cracks Call work against the Screaming Bell? I understand it's a mount for a Grey Seer... but would you use the Grey Seer's or the Rat Ogre crew's initiative? That doesn't really make sense; you would think an inanimate object would behave in exactly the same way as a war machine being hit by the spell. In any case, I understand that rules as written can trump rules as intended, which I suspect will be the case here. Anyways, thanks in advance for your answers.
My interpretation, using rules as written:
The Bell does not have the special rule "charriot" so it is not a charriot and since the grey seer rides it, it is a mount and not a warmachine. While the new FAQ doesnt address your question, The Bell is called a 'mount' in one of the questions, so we should treat it as such. Since it is a mount, it must make an initiative test. And refering to the general warhammer FAQ,So even though the bell has initiative of 0 which would auto fail the test, you use the grey seer's initiative for the test. If the grey seer is dead, the bell auto fails the test and is destroyed.Q. Occasionally, a model with multiple parts that have different Characteristics, such as a cavalry model, a Character riding a Monster or a Chariot, will have to take a Characteristic test (like an Initiative test for a Pit of Shades spell). If the model has multiple values for the Characteristic to be tested, which one is used?
A. Unless differently specified, use the best value, in other words the value that makes it more likely to pass the test.
It may not make that much sense, but that how I see it, rules as written.
Yeah, that seems fair. Thanks for the quick response. Rep pour vous. So I guess if I can manage to kill the Grey Seer, Glean Magic'ing Cracks Call could be a sneaky way of killing the bell.
Actually, under the screaming bell's stat line it says "The Screaming Bell is a special kind of mount for a Grey Seer. It is treated as a single model with combined characteristics for the Screaming Bell and the Rat Ogre".
So if the Grey Seer is dead, you'd use the combined characteristic of Initiative 4 (from the Rat Ogre).