Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Suppose I have a character with a magical lance. He charges a forest spirit unit and obviously gets the benefit of having magical attacks in the first round. Does he swap to his hand weapon afterwards, or does he get to smack things with the lance (without the strength bonus) and still get the benefit of having magical attacks? The rules seem to lean towards the latter (can't switch weapons after combat starts, nothing says the lance is only -used- in the first round), it's just hurting my head a bit imagining it.
You keep fighting with the magic lance in future rounds. You still have magical attacks, and you keep and special abilities the magic lance has (i.e. if it has killing blow, you still have it in the future rounds). You just don't get the extra strength from charging in future rounds.
Awesome, thanks! I guess I'll just have to try harder at imagining someone getting bopped in the head with a lance. Maybe like a baseball bat...
*Smack* xD baseball bats i can see heads turning to pulp
funny thing about the magical lances in bret list is that they do not actually count as lance.(P. 121)
As a normal lance is only used in the first round, these magic "lances" dont have such rule
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
Actually, the proper way to use a lance in close combat is still to stab with it. When your horse rears up you angle it down so when your faithful steed goes to trample somebody with his hooves your lance descends through some other enemy.
It's much cooler than imagining lances as a blunt weapon.