Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
i recently picked up a drawf army and i have been playing against it (via a friend) with my vamps. now, we always run into problems with what models the shot hits, and furthermore, (when the cannon is on the ground) he will aim at a unit that he can see with the intention of hitting the unit behind it.as far as what models the shot hits, how much of the base does the shot have to touch to actually hit it?as far as aiming, i know that you have to target an enemy unit, guess range and roll, but how much can he "over guess" to hit the unit he wants to? how specific does he have to get (ie. "the front left leg of the dire worlf")? can you guess 0"?there seems to be enough technical loop holes with the cannon, or maybe i just don't fully understand. please help!
You have to guess at least an inch. And remember, it will overshoot between 2" and 10".
You have to choose a specific model or point on the table. We usually mark it as the model's head, or a dice. If the model is large enough, we might pick a specific spot such as "the dragon's left leg."
The cannon will hit any model whose base it touches, no questions asked. However, when penetrating ranks, it will never hit more than the numbers in the rank. For example, if you line your knights up single file, and I shoot my cannon from your front arc, I can only ever hit 1 knight- no matter how I fudge the line. If I fire from the flank of your knights, I can technically hit all of them, assuming the line passes through them all. In dire situations, dice for it, or be prepared to have a string handy.
Remember that if he guns specifically for a character, or a character is hit in any way, so long as there are 5 equal-sized models on foot around him, the character will get a "Look out sir!" roll. This means that he is only hit on the D6 roll of a 1, and otherwise, another model "jumps in front" of the cannonball and takes the hit for him. If he fires at a character on a monstrous mount or riding a warmachine (chariot, or in your case the Corpse Cart) he has to randomize between the monster/machine and the rider. In these instances, the Rider is hit on a 5-6, and the mount is hit on 1-4.
It is considered cheesy to over guess the range by too much. I've seen very nasty cases of this, where a general would guess so that shots landed into a locked combat when you normally can't even target hand-to-hand. In friendly games, we usually say that the guess has to be reasonable if you want it to be accepted.
I would suggest creating a house-rule that states that the guess (before rolling any artillery dice) has to land in or in front of the regiment it targeted. If it lands behind the unit, you can contest the guess, and discount the shot entirely. Of course, you yourself need to keep fairness in mind, and only discount shots which are obviously over-ranged.
In tournament play however, his tactic is entirely legal. The downside of course is that he will be marked off on his generalship/sportsmanship scores, if they are scoring for that category.
thanks alot, that provides alot of insight in to how the mechanics of shooting a cannon works. the thing is i will be playing as the dwarfs soon enough, so it is good to know what i can and cannot do with it. thanks again.
1-4 hits mount
5-6 hits rider
1-5 hits chariot
6 hits character
Are the flank rules for the RBT from the HE's or DE's the same as the cannon? If the RBT fires a single S6 bolt at a flank, does it go through the whole flank regardless if the line doesn't pass through all the model's in the flank?
So even if the line the bolt travels in only hits one or two models in the flank, it still counts as hitting an infinite amount of models until it stops wounding?
Thanks for the clarification, my friend who plays HE said the same thing but it doesn't seem logical that the bolt magically redirects itself after hitting the first model to then go through the flank.