Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey, can I put a caster in the second rank of a unit in order to have him avoid combat, if i don't have any spells needing los, i just need him to be safe. I'm not saying move him when combat happens, but if i can keep him in the second row all game. Thanks in advance and sorry if I missed the rule.
if the first rank is full of characters some may be in second rank.
any characters not in first rank are not considered in play; wizards cannot cast. (p73)
Warchief Diggah o da Bloodmoon Squiggahs
k, got it, thanks for the help, sorry I missed that
There are exemptions in Brettonians and Skaven, it gives clear details in the armybook about it. Just in case you face one of those armies and see they have things in different ranks
Fantasy: Wood Elves, Dark Elves, Beastmen and Tomb Kings.
LotR: Misty Mountains and Rohan
Yeah...some armies have actual literal meatshields in their armybooks...and it would be illogical for a grey seer, for example, to join the front rank of a unit of skavenslaves... Their whole purpose is to do a bunch of dying to preserve the fighting power of the real units following behind...not the place for a wizard.
IG since 1999 __ DA since 2002 __ Tau since 2005 __ SoB since 2007
Brets 1997-1999 __ TK since 2009 __ Empire since 2010
The only armies that I can think of that would allow this are Lizzardmen where the slann is placed in the second rank of his body guard and Bretonia where damsels can be put in the second rank of a calvery unit. Although with the Slann he is considered to be a large target when casting so he can see over the front rank for line of sight. With the Damsel though I think the can cast but dosen't have line of sight. It came up once during a pratice game.