Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Alright I am tired so sorry if this is an easy questions but:
If Orcs r fighting signified by O and Swordsmen are in there flank and break the orcs...but the orcs roll a 6 and the swordsmen roll a 9...but hit the Orcs that r behind them like this:
O --this is orc frontal arc
O--Orc unit that is 4 inches away
Do the orc unit that fled escape or r they caught and the swordsmen get another flank charge on the other orc unit.
Thanks for the help!
Also having a hard time finding what to roll when its an overrun. Is it D6 or based on movement? Ex...Calv 3D6 and Inf 2D6
Armies: 40k: Imperial Guard, Orks Fantasy: Skaven
The orc unit will be destroyed. The swordmasters move 5 so roll 2D6. If they reach the other orcs, they get a flank charge. The orcs get a charge reaction of hold or flee. For overrun, if you move 6 or less, roll 2D6. If movement is greater than 6, roll 3D6.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
The rule states that fleeing units roll, then the pursuing units pick a direction and roll. If they match or beat the roll the fleeing unit rolled the unit is immediately destroyed and the pursuers are moved in that direction the indicated inches by their die roll in this case, charging the other orc unit as described above. Now say the orc unit that fled rolled 12 and your sword masters rolled 9, they get to flee (and if they are unit strenght 5+) would casue a panic check in the other orc unit that is four inches behind them. If the orc unit passes that the SM would then charge into them as before. Hope this helps
Grrr....this exact same thing happened to me in a tournament recently and the organizer was like....the fleeing unit just gets bumped behind the unit that they passed though....you charge the unit that was in behind....but the original breaking unit is not destroyed...needless to say I was pretty pissed.
No matter what happens, if your Pursuit roll is equal-to or greater-than their roll to Flee, then the unit is destroyed.
If your pursuit roll is high enough to bring you into contact with a fresh enemy behind the first, then you count as Charging in the next round of combat, and the enemy is not allowed to declare ANY charge reaction except "hold".
If the fleeing unit is not caught, but flees into a friendly regiment, that friendly regiment must make a panic check immediately. If it passes, it remains in place and might be attacked by the pursuing enemy. If it breaks, then it can not be run down by the pursuing enemy. It was not part of the combat, and so it is treated just like any other regiment which had failed a panic test.
If the fleeing unit flees into a friendly regiment who does not break, but does not have sufficient movement to clear the regiment entirely, then the fleeing regiment is placed on the oppsite side of their friends, 1" away, and is still fleeing. Because of this, it is possible for a regiment to travel extremely far during a single Flight, as long as they keep bumping through friendly units (personal record- Night Goblins ran from one flank of my Orc army to the other).
That should clear things up for fleeing.
Overrun works exactly the same way, except that you are obviously not pushing an enemy unit ahead of you. The only exception is that if you Overrun into a combat which has not been resolved yet for this turn, then you may participate in it just as if you had charged. So, pursuit into a fresh enemy is fought on the following round of close combat, but Overrun into a fresh enemy is fought in the current round.
What happens if you overrun into a friendly unit, I assume you stop in front of them?